Maps

ABOUT: The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection is a general collection of more than 350,000 maps covering all areas of the world. Many of the maps are included in our Library Catalog. 70,000 map images from our collection are also available online. Maps from the PCL Map Collection are being added to the UT Libraries' Collections portal and the Texas GeoData portal regularly.

LOCATION: The Map Room (PCL 1.306) is on the first floor of the Perry-Castañeda Library, located on the University of Texas-Austin campus. We are located on the southwest corner of 21st and Speedway. Parking garages are available nearby.

HOURS: The Map Collection is staffed Monday through Friday. Access to the collection is available during all hours the Perry-Castañeda Library Check-Out Desk is open. See the Library Hours page for current details.

Other University of Texas at Austin Map Collections

The Dolph Briscoe Center for American History
Historical maps of Texas, American Southwest and Texas Soil Surveys.

LLILAS Benson Latin American Studies and Collections
Rare and general maps of Latin America.

The Harry Ransom Center
Historical maps.

Tobin International Geological Map Collection
Geologic, scientific and topographic maps. Texas Soil Surveys.

Checking out printed maps

The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection is an open stack collection. University of Texas students, faculty and staff, and the general public are welcome to use our collection. Maps may be checked out for two weeks to users with a valid University of Texas ID or other Borrower Cards. When the Map Collection is not staffed, maps may be checked out from the Circulation and Reserves Desk in PCL. We loan maps via Inter-Library Service. All requests to borrow maps must be made at your local library. We do not sell or provide free printed maps.