Geographic Consumer Data - Simply Analytics - MAN 374 General Management and Strategy - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

Geographic Survey Data

SimplyAnalytics
Nielsen - Scarborough Local Insights

SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. 5 users.
Updated regularly. An Internet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables. Professional mapping applications can take over 20 hours of training to use, but SimplyMap is designed so that most users need less than 10 minutes of training in order to use the product.
Please either create a free account or use the Guest Login to enter the site.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.

Viewing "Data Variables"

New Project - Select target area
Select one or more “seed” variables - Median Household Income
Create Project - view map
Select "Ranking" right-hand side of page

SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. 5 users.
Updated regularly. An Internet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables. Professional mapping applications can take over 20 hours of training to use, but SimplyMap is designed so that most users need less than 10 minutes of training in order to use the product.
Please either create a free account or use the Guest Login to enter the site.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.

Searching fo data about people who may have "watched" "attended" or 'listened" to sports networks in Austin, TX.

Step 1: Select Nielsen Scarborough	Step 2: Select Hyperlocal Data - Austin, TX

Step 3: Select the "Sports Nets" categories	Step 4: Choose your teams

SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. 5 users.
Updated regularly. An Internet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables. Professional mapping applications can take over 20 hours of training to use, but SimplyMap is designed so that most users need less than 10 minutes of training in order to use the product.
Please either create a free account or use the Guest Login to enter the site.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.

Demographic Reports & Tables

Statista
Statistical Abstract of the United States

About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census, but the data also includes numerous exclusive sources which include industry, marketing, and trade groups. Much of the data is related to marketing, demographic, government and industry information, and is international in scope. Data can be downloaded in JPG, PowerPoint and Excel.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Statista provides statistical data from thousands of institutions and sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government agencies.
Statista includes data on more than 85,000 topics from 18,000 sources. About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census, but the data also includes numerous exclusive sources which include industry, marketing, and trade groups. Much of the data is related to marketing, demographic, government and industry information, and is international in scope. Data can be downloaded in JPG, PowerPoint and Excel.
While historical and time series data are not a focus of Statista, the metadata about each table provides all the necessary information to go to the table’s source, where historical information may be available.

The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a compilation of social, political and economic statistics. The focus is on national data, but some tables cover regions, states, cities, and comparative international statistics. Each table identifies the source of the data. Tables can be downloaded in xls or pdf format.

Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a compilation of social, political and economic statistics. The focus is on national data, but some tables cover regions, states, cities, and comparative international statistics. Each table identifies the source of the data. Tables can be downloaded in xls or pdf format.
Divided into broad sections such as Population, Health and Nutrition, Education, Foreign Commerce and Aid, Prices and many others, the database can be searched or browsed to retrieve results that can then be narrowed by source, geography, time period, subject, and other breakdowns.

Census Resources

Provides population, housing, industry, economic, and geographic data and maps from the U.S. Bureau of the Census.

Explore Census Data This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides population, housing, industry, economic, and geographic data and maps from the U.S. Bureau of the Census.

Users can examine geographic areas while selecting the type of data to be shown, such as population density or income level. The corresponding data tables are also available.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
1790 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides easy access to historical census data for the United States. Allows users to visually analyze and understand the demography of any part of the United States with access to the following:
- Interactive thematic maps of historical census data
- Customized reports for any chosen area or areas (including aggregates)
- Complete coverage of the United States, down to neighborhoods and streets
- Simple navigation buttons and a find tool make it easy and efficient to study neighborhoods
Users can examine geographic areas while selecting the type of data to be shown, such as population density or income level. The corresponding data tables are also available.

World dataBank This link opens in a new window
1960 - present. 1 user.
Updated regularly. Free access to more than 7,000 indicators from over 20 datasets on world development, including World Development Indicators and Global Development Finance. Dates of coverage begin in 1960 but vary by dataset and country. You can create reports with tables, charts, and maps and export the results in standard formats.

MAN 374 General Management and Strategy