LibGuides: Germanic Studies: German newspapers & other news sources

German newspapers

German newspapers & other news

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Collection of articles from newspapers worldwide. *Note the default search is English (only) language. You must change the default to get non-English language results. *Use Region or Language limiters to generate German language results.
Updated daily. A global information resource, providing full-text access to top national and international newspapers (including full text of the Wall Street Journal), newswires, business journals, market research reports, analysts reports and web sites. Contains over 8000 publications with content from 118 countries in 22 languages.
This database was formerly called Dow Jones Interactive.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Formerly called LexisNexis. Well-known collection of newspaper articles worldwide. Includes selections from Allgemeine Zeitung .
Tips for non-English language searching:
1. Choose News Tab
2. Conduct search with keywords, names etc.
3. Filter by Source Language (or Source Name) at left.
Updated continually. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

PressReader This link opens in a new window
30-60 days of current newspapers and magazines from around the world. Tip: To search in German click on the search box and choose Advanced Search then select either by country or language.
Updated daily. Provides a full-color and full-page collection of newspapers from around the world,. Includes over 1000 titles from Europe, Asia, the Middle East, Latin America, and the United States. A 60-day archive is also available to browse by country, language, and newspaper title, and to search full text of articles, photograph captions, and headlines.
Once inside the newspaper, click on a headline to read the article or zoom in to read the article as it appears in print.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.

German Studies Web: Newspapers
The ACRL (Association of College and Research Libraries) maintains this extensive collection of German Language Newspapers and other News sources
Deutscher Bundestag
The German Bundestag is the national Parliament of the Federal Republic of Germany. Includes links to official record/s.

Deutsches Zeitungsportal

At the time of its launch in October 2021, the Deutsches Zeitungsportal contained 247 newspapers from nine libraries, which covered a period of three centuries. 84% of all available newspaper pages had full-text indexing. The oldest newspaper at this point in time, “Il corriere ordinario”, was published on 26 December 1671; the most recent, the “Badische Neueste Nachrichten”, is from 1950... [Quoted from FAQ. ]
Zefys Zeitungsinformationsystem

190 plus historical newspapers from German, and foreign newspapers in German. Currently including titles spanning 1617-1946.

Newspapers in Austrian Libraries
From the Austrian Library Association, some digitized. Seems to be title search only.
ANNO, Austrian National Library Newspaper "Reading Room" for historical newspaper and magazines.

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required

Librarian

Shiela Winchester

Email Me

Contact:

512 495 4254

Subjects: Archaeology, Classics, Dutch Literature, Folklore, Germanic Studies, Greek and Latin Language and Literature, Medieval and Renaissance Studies, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Scandinavian