LibGuides: Germanic Studies: Databases for articles, books

Databases for articles, books

Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft (BDSL)
The major online bibliography for German language and literature. Including umlauts and other diacritics (accents) required for best results.
The major online bibliography for German language and literature. Including umlauts and other diacritics (accents) may improve results.
MLA International Bibliography
Lists articles and books on modern literature and language.
Updated ten times per year. Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 4,400 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
1973 - present. Unlimited users.
Monthly updates, with about 14,000 new records added a year. Indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
Historical Abstracts
Lists wide range of articles, books on history.
Updated regularly. Contains citations and abstracts of worldwide literature (excluding the United States and Canada) from approximately 2,100 journals and (since 1980) books and dissertations on political, diplomatic, economic, social, cultural and intellectual history and related areas of the social sciences and humanities. Covers history dating from 1450 to the present. The database corresponds to the print Historical Abstracts, which was produced by ABC-CLIO.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Authoritative articles on the current scholarship, with expert recommendations and commentary on the best works available in the discipline covered,
These Bibliographies provide an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, expert recommendations and authoritative commentary on the best works available in the discipline covered, making them particularly useful for anyone beginning research.
UT Austin has access to the all bibliographies in all subject areas.
ABSEES: American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
While the main focus is North American scholarship on Eastern Europe, there is significant German content.
Updated monthly. Covers North American scholarship on Eastern Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. It contains bibliographic records for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government publications.

Germanistik
ISBN: 0016-8912
Publication Date: 2007- (online)
Germanistik is the central international journal covering the study of German language and literature, including associated fields...Each volume contains some 8,000 published titles in its bibliography.

Digitzeitschriften, covering “core German research journals”. We do not subscribe, only have direct access to free content.

OLC Sozialwissenschaften (Deutschen Bildungsserver) : tables of contents of journals in the field of sociology and social policy.