LibGuides: Interior Design: Databases and Journals

Finding Articles

Academic Search Complete
Unlimited users.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Art & Architecture ePortal
eBooks and Images
Art and Architecture Source Unlimited users.The collection includes over 600 full-text journals, 200 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,000 images. Provides the most up-to-date coverage of fine and decorative arts, commercial art, architecture, archaeology, design, and museum studies. An ideal tool for art historians, artists, designers, students, and general researchers.
ARTbibliographies Modern Unlimited users.Updated six times a year. Provides abstracts of the current literature of modern art, photography and design. Covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art, including performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theater arts, crafts, jewelry and illustration, as well as the traditional fine arts of painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. Indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, U.S. state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Includes obituary citations.
Compendex
Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. Ei Compendex indexes the research literature of the field of engineering. The product contains more than 17 million total records. Over a million new records, with abstracts, are added per year. More than 3,600 journals and 4,100 conference publications and trade magazines are currently indexed. Customizable e-mail or RSS alerts are available.
DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index
Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. All areas of design and craft are covered, including industrial design, vehicle design, architecture, interior design, environmental design, computer aided design, furniture design, ceramics, glass, jewellery, metalsmithing, silversmithing, goldsmithing, fashion design, textile design, embroidery, graphic design, typography, multimedia design, illustration, book design, photography, advertising, marketing, retail design, packaging, exhibition design, theatre design, design and craft history, design and craft theory, ergonomics, design for disability, design for the elderly, design and craft education and design management.
DETAIL Inspiration
Unlimited users.
Provides photographs, drawings and technical product information from thousands of builds featured in the journal DETAIL as well as its supplements Structure, Detail Green, and Detail Inside. Each project is accompanied by DETAIL project documents, which can be downloaded as PDFs. Search filters include building type, material, construction and location, year of construction and more.
Note: The UT Libraries have access to Detail Inspiration only. Other pages from the site could be unavailable.
JSTOR
Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection Unlimited users.Updated daily. A comprehensive database providing nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals. Covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection.
PsycINFO (Ebsco) Unlimited users.Updated monthly. Indexes and abstracts over 1,700 sources, including international material selected from periodicals written in over 35 languages. Contains current chapter and book coverage with worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present, and adds over 60,000 references annually through monthly updates. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines. Has over 1.8 million individual records, some dating back to 1887.
Includes abstracts from Psychological Abstracts back to 1927, Psychological Bulletin from 1921-1926, and all APA journals and the American Journal of Psychology back to their first issues. Corresponds in part to the print index Psychological Abstracts.

Journals

Remember not all relevant material is accessible online! If you are looking for journal articles and the full-text is not available, you can request a scan of an article.

Listed below are some journals you might want explore:

Interior Design

Databases and Journals

Finding Articles

Journals

Other Guides