Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Provides individuals and institutions with access to important art and architectural history scholarship. With grant funding from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, Yale University Press has developed this site to make key backlist and out-of-print titles on a wide variety of subjects more broadly available and easily discoverable within an interactive platform. The ePortal also features scholarship from other leading university presses and museum publishers, creating a meaningful and robust educational experience.
Updated weekly. Indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, U.S. state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Includes obituary citations.
The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is an online library providing free and open access to the legacy literature of taxonomy and biodiversity. Materials in BHL are provided by a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries who have come together to digitize the literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make it available as part of a global 'biodiversity commons.' The bulk of material in the BHL is in the public domain in the United States, meaning that the publication date is prior to 1923. Many of the collections contain rare published literature previously available only to those who could visit the institutions.
Users may search the entire library by multiple access points, read the texts online, or download selected pages or volumes as PDFs. For more information about what types of materials are included in the collection, see BHL's Collection Development Policy.
CompendexThis link opens in a new window1884 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. Ei Compendex indexes the research literature of the field of engineering. The product contains more than 17 million total records. Over a million new records, with abstracts, are added per year. More than 3,600 journals and 4,100 conference publications and trade magazines are currently indexed. Customizable e-mail or RSS alerts are available.
Updated regularly. All areas of design and craft are covered, including industrial design, vehicle design, architecture, interior design, environmental design, computer aided design, furniture design, ceramics, glass, jewellery, metalsmithing, silversmithing, goldsmithing, fashion design, textile design, embroidery, graphic design, typography, multimedia design, illustration, book design, photography, advertising, marketing, retail design, packaging, exhibition design, theatre design, design and craft history, design and craft theory, ergonomics, design for disability, design for the elderly, design and craft education and design management.
InformeDesignThis link opens in a new windowDates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
InformeDesign, a clearinghouse for design and human behavior research, is a close working collaboration between the American Society of Interior Designers and the University of Minnesota.
InformeDesign is a research and communication tool for designers of the built environment, such as interior designers, architects, landscape architects, and graphic designers. It contains a database of Research Summaries about design and human behavior research, accessible through either a full-text search or by using the topics listed within the three main categories, Space, Issues, or Occupants.
Due to lack of continued funding, InformeDesign has been placed in idle mode. You will still have access to all of the Research Summaries, Implications, and continuing/professional education courses; however, no new information will be added.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowDates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
PAISThis link opens in a new window1915 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Bibliographic index with abstracts covering the full range of political, social, and public policy issues. Covers selected journal articles, books, statistics, yearbooks, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, government documents, and microfiche. More than 1,600 journals and over 8,000 monographs are indexed each year. Includes documents published worldwide in any of six languages: English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The subject headings and abstracts are in English.
The PAIS Archive database comprises a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, Volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976. At completion of this conversion, the PAIS Archive contains over 1.23 million records.
What's Out ThereThis link opens in a new windowDates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Spanning over two centuries of American landscape design, the What’s Out There® database is searchable by landscape name, locale, designer, type, and style. What’s Out There has over one thousand entries, with content created by academics, volunteers, and advocates, vetted over the past decade by dozens of researchers and historians.
Journals
Remember not all relevant material is accessible online! If you are looking for journal articles and the full-text is not available, you can request a scan of an article.
Listed below are some journals you might want to look at:
