LibGuides: African and African Diaspora Studies: Reference and Background

Encyclopedia and Reference Ebooks

Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History by Colin A. Palmer; Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 0028658167
Publication Date: 2005-12-16
Encyclopedia of the African Diaspora
Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Black Studies by Molefi Kete Asante, Mambo Ama Mazama (Editors)
Publication Date: 2005
The Encyclopedia of Black Studies is the leading reference source for dynamic and innovative research on the Black experience. The concept for the encyclopedia was developed from the successful Journal of Black Studies (SAGE) and contains a full analysis of the economic, political, sociological, historical, literary, and philosophical issues related to Americans of African descent.
Keywords for African American Studies by Erica R. Edwards, Roderick A. Ferguson, Jeffrey O. G. Ogbar (Editors)
Publication Date: 2018
Introduces key terms, interdisciplinary research, debates, and histories for African American Studies
Black Power Encyclopedia by Akinyele Umoja, Karin L. Stanford, Jasmin A. Young (Editors)
Publication Date: 2018
This unique two-volume set provides readers with an understanding of Black Power's important role in the turbulence, social change, and politics of the 1960s and 1970s in America and how the concepts of the movement continue to influence contemporary Black politics, culture, and identity.
Encyclopedia of African American Artists by dele jegede
Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of African American Music by Emmett G. Price (Editor); Tammy L. Kernodle (Editor); Horace J. Maxile (Editor)
ISBN: 0313342008
Publication Date: 2010-12-17
Encyclopedia of Black Comics
Publication Date: 2017
The book focuses on creators in the field of comics: inkers, illustrators, artists, writers, editors, Black comic historians, Black comic convention creators, website creators, archivists and academics--as well as individuals who may not fit into any category but have made notable achievements within and/or across Black comic culture.
Encyclopedia of the Black Arts Movement by Verner D. Mitchell, Cynthia Davis (Editors)
Publication Date: 2019
Featuring essays by contemporary scholars and rare photographs of BAM artists, Encyclopedia of the Blacks Arts Movement is an essential reference for students and scholars of twentieth-century American literature and African American cultural studies.
Enslaved Women in America: An Encyclopedia by Daina Ramey Berry (Editor in Chief)
Publication Date: 2012
This singular reference provides an authoritative account of the daily lives of enslaved women in the United States, from colonial times to emancipation following the Civil War. Through essays, photos, and primary source documents, the female experience is explored, and women are depicted as central, rather than marginal, figures in history.
Historical Dictionary of African American Cinema by S. Torriano Berry; Venise T. Berry
Publication Date: 2015
This second edition of Historical Dictionary of African American Cinema covers its history through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 1400 cross-referenced entries on actors, actresses, movies, producers, organizations, awards, and terminology, this book provides a better understanding of the role African Americans played in film history.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of African Cultural Heritage in North America by Mwalimu J. Shujaa, Kenya J. Shujaa (Editors)
Publication Date: 2015

Select Companions & Handbooks

Performance

Social-Cultural Studies

Reference Databases

African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Features over 7,500 articles from Oxford's authoritative reference works, approximately 100 primary sources with specially written commentaries, over 1,000 images, over 100 maps, over 200 charts and tables, timelines to guide researchers through the history of African Americans and over 6,000 biographies.
Updated regularly. A comprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture, coupled with sophisticated technology permitting precise search and browse capabilities. Features over 7,500 articles from Oxford's authoritative reference works, approximately 100 primary sources with specially written commentaries, over 1,000 images, over 100 maps, over 200 charts and tables, timelines to guide researchers through the history of African Americans and over 6,000 biographies.
Some of the titles included in this access are:
- African American Artists before the Twentieth Century
- African American National Biography
- Africana
- Black Women in America, Second Edition
- Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature
- Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895
- Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present
American National Biography This link opens in a new window Dates of coverage vary. 3 users.
Updated quarterly. Provides biographical information for over 19,000 people from all eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture. Ranges in time from the earliest recorded European explorations to the very recent past. Includes the content from all 24 volumes of The American National Biography set as well as over 900 fully integrated articles from The Oxford Companion to United States History. The learning experience is enhanced with entries on historic events, social movements, ideologies, and iconic sites in the United States. Wide range of search options.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.

BlackPast.org
These materials include an online encyclopedia of over 4,000 entries, the complete transcript of more than 300 speeches by African Americans, other people of African ancestry, and those concerned about race, given between 1789 and 2016, over 140 full text primary documents, bibliographies, timelines
Black Women Radicals Database (BWRD)
The Black Women Radicals Database (BWRD) historizes and visualizes Black women’s radical political activism in Africa and in the African Diaspora in efforts to build academic, political, and community engagement, dialogue, knowledge production, research, and education about Black women’s significant legacies as socio-political agents of radical change.