LibGuides: African and African Diaspora Studies: Bibliographies

Select Bibliographies

African-American Newspapers and Periodicals by James P. Danky (Editor); Maureen E. Hady (Editor); Henry Louis Gates (Foreword by)
Publication Date: 1999
American Indian and African American People, Communities, and Interactions by Lisa Bier
Publication Date: 2004

This bibliography features books, articles, Web sites, and videos containing information on interactions between African American and Native American people and communities. These interactions reveal communication, alliances, and agency among the two groups, a neglected layer of North American history.
Brown Gold: Milestones of African American Children's Picture Books, 1845-2002 by Michelle Martin
Publication Date: 2004

Brown Gold is a compelling history and analysis of African-American children's picturebooks from the mid-nineteenth century to the present.
The Heritage Series of Black Poetry, 1962-1975 by Lauri Ramey (Editor)
Publication Date: 2008

This reference work is an essential resource for scholars working in the fields of black poetry, transatlantic studies, and twentieth-century book history.

Queer Black Studies: An Annotated Bibliography, 1994-1999
Callaloo/Project Muse
Black American Feminisms: A Multidisciplinary Bibliography
Black American Feminism is not a comprehensive bibliography of black American feminist thought, however, it does seek to be comprehensive in subject coverage, citing sources from numerous subject areas within the humanities, social sciences, and health, medicine and science. Citations date back to the nineteenth century to the present, with the majority of references representing the very influential contemporary black feminist thought that emerged in the the 1970s and continues today.
Index of African American Artists
Bibliography of African American Artists referenced in the Met Museum's Library collection.

Oxford Bibliographies Online
See collection of bibliographies related to African American Studies.
International African Bibliography Online

Unlimited users.
Updated quarterly. The International African Bibliography Online (IABO) is a leading specialist bibliography of African Studies. It contains 140,000 entries from the International African Bibliography published in the years 1971 to 2015, and about 4,000 new entries will be added every year. The bibliography is searchable by authors, editors, titles, publication years, ISSN/ISBN, keywords, full text, and categories such as regions and countries or the African Diaspora.