LibGuides: Asian American Studies: Databases

Recommended Databases

Covers of Gidra, the 'monthly of the Asian American community,' was a revolutionary magazine that ran from 1969 to 1974. Courtesy of the Gidra Collection, accessible through Densho Digital Repository.

Asian American Drama This link opens in a new window
1891 - present. Documents the Asian American experience as dramatized in works by writers from the 18th century to the present. Brings together biographies, a performance database, production details, and associated visual resources, including photos, playbills, and manuscript images.
Documents the Asian American experience as dramatized in works by writers from the 18th century to the present. Brings together biographies, a performance database, production details, and associated visual resources, including photos, playbills, and manuscript images. Brings together more than 250 plays, beginning with the works of Sadakichi Hartmann in the late nineteenth century and progresses to the writings of contemporary playwrights, such as Philip Kan Gotanda, Elizabeth Wong, and Jeannie Barroga. Along with many works by writers of Japanese, Filipino, Vietnamese, and Chinese descent, includes plays by writers of Hawaiian, Indian, Thai, Korean, Persian, and Malaysian ancestry.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
1985 - present. Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America (some international coverage).
Updated monthly. Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America (some international coverage). Includes more than 400,000 full-text articles from 200 publications.
Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880-1930 This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents of investigations made by the U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) during the massive immigration wave of 1880-1930. The files cover Asian immigration, especially Japanese and Chinese migration, to California, Hawaii, and other states;
Primary source documents of investigations made by the U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) during the massive immigration wave of 1880-1930. The files cover Asian immigration, especially Japanese and Chinese migration, to California, Hawaii, and other states; Mexican immigration to the U.S. from 1906-1930, and European immigration. There are also extensive files on the INS’s regulation of prostitution and white slavery and on suppression of radical aliens.
Records of the Immigration and Naturalization Service, Series A: Subject Correspondence Files:
- Part 1: Asian Immigration and Exclusion, 1906-1913
- Part 1: Supplement: Asian Immigration and Exclusion, 1898-1941
- Part 2: Mexican Immigration, 1906-1930
- Part 3: Ellis Island, 1900-1933
- Part 4: European Investigations, 1898-1936
- Part 5: Prostitution and White Slavery, 1902-1933
- Part 6: Suppression of Aliens
LANTERN SLIDES OF THE NIPPON RIKKOKAI: Japanese Immigrants to Americas (力行会海外日本人移民関係幻燈資料) This link opens in a new window
19th - 20th century. The collection features 179 black/white and hand-colored images of the lantern slides, which were created and provided by the Nippon Rikkokai Foundation 日本力行会.
The collection features 179 black/white and hand-colored images of the lantern slides, which were created and provided by the Nippon Rikkokai Foundation 日本力行会. The main images of the lantern slides at this site are lives of those immigrants to Americas, mainly to Brazil, in late 19th and early 20th century.
Migration to New Worlds This link opens in a new window
1800 - 1980. Presents thousands of unique original sources focusing on the growth of colonisation companies during the nineteenth century, the activities of American immigration and welfare societies, and the plight of refugees and displaced persons throughout the twentieth century.
Presents thousands of unique original sources focusing on the growth of colonisation companies during the nineteenth century, the activities of American immigration and welfare societies, and the plight of refugees and displaced persons throughout the twentieth century.
Search across Adam Matthew primary source databases using AM Explorer
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
1840 - 1950.
Updated quarterly (until completed). Provides a view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. When completed, will include more than 100,000 pages of personal narratives including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories. Currently contains 342 authors and approximately 37,500 pages of information.