Find Sources - UGS 303: Critical Geographies of Health - Faria - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

Find Articles on a Topic

Choose a place to search
Keywords for searching a database

For this assignment, you might need several types of sources:

Source Type	Start Here
Scholarly Articles	Library databases, see recommendations below; specific geography journals recommended by Dr. Faria, see below. If you are using a general library database, remember to check that your article is in a Geography journal or by a geographer.
Background information	Gale eBooks and Credo Reference contain collections of encyclopedia articles, see below; good sources for finding keywords and brainstorming ideas
Journalism/News	Google News or the UT Libraries NexisUni database. Make sure to evaluate unfamiliar publications.

Keyword tool
Use this tool to help you brainstorm keywords on your topic.

Cancer	Location	Treatment
Disease	Urban	Survivor
Illness	Rural	Life Expectancy
Breast Cancer	Texas	Travel Time

Databases and journals for your class

Search Geography Journals
This link should allow you to search this list of Geography Journals. Add your keywords on the lines below that long list of numbers. Leave the numbers - these are the journals' ISSNs (a unique number every journal has).
Acme
Antipode
Emotion, Space and Society
Health and Place
Social and Cultural Geography
Gender, Place and Culture
Transactions - Institute of British Geography
Geoforum
Annals of the Association of American Geographers
Cultural Geographies
Journal of Cultural Geography
Political Geography
Environment and Planning C: Government and Policy
Environment and Planning D: Society & Space
Economic Geography
American Geographic Society - Focus on Geography
Dialogues in Human Geography

Articles & More Advanced Search
This is the advanced version of the library Articles & More search.

Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

Kanopy
This streaming service provides access to thousands of titles covering various educational topics and feature films from producers including Criterion, Documentary Educational Resources, New Day Films, Media Education Foundation, California Newsreel, PBS and others.
Ethnographic Video Online, Vols. I & II: Foundational Films
A comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior.

Social Explorer
Allows users to visually analyze and understand the demography of any part of the United States
SimplyAnalytics
An Internet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables

Keyword brainstorming

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required

Popular vs. Scholarly Sources

Popular, Scholarly, or Trade

This guide will help you distinguish between scholarly (peer-reviewed) articles and popular articles. Compare your article with the components of a scholarly article.

Search Operators

You can use operators to help you search more efficiently. See different types of operators to use at the following links:

Search Operators from the MIT Libraries

Refine web searches from Google