Find Articles - UGS 302: Self Care and OTC Products - Acosta - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

Find Articles on a Topic

Choose where to search
Keywords and Database Searching

What do you need?	Start here
Background information	Start with Gale eBooks below.
Current News - assignment 1	Google News The health or science section of a particular news outlet (Washington Post, NY Times, NPR, etc) New York times access: https://guides.lib.utexas.edu/nyt Look for "study" in article titles News databases are linked below, PressDisplay is best for browsing.
Articles on a topic	See suggested databases below. Use keywords to search in databases The libraries pay to have access to these databases.
A specific article you have the citation for	1. Search for the article title in the main search bar on the library homepage. Look for it under articles and more 2. If you don't find it, try to search for the journal title (journals search: https://search.lib.utexas.edu/discovery/jsearch?vid=01UTAU_INST:SEARCH) and look under journals under results. See if we have the journal for the year you need. 3. Use chat for help.

Learn more about databases with the video in the right column.

See search examples on the second tab in this box, "Keywords and Database Searching"

Keyword tool
Use this tool to help you brainstorm keywords on your topic.

Searching databases is different than searching Google. Distil what you're looking for into a few key terms or phrases, rather than whole sentences.

insomnia be helped by OTC products, does this have an impact on X (or is it more effective than X)?

For each main concept, brainstorm a few synonyms and related terms (broader or narrower) that get at that concept:

Key Concepts

Insomnia

Over the Counter Products

Aspect (x)

Related Terms

Chronic Insomnia

Acute Insomnia

Primary Insomnia

Comorbid Insomnia

Melatonin

Tryptophan

Valerian Tea

Stress

Mental Health

Diet

Physical activity

depression

anxiety

PTSD

Combine key terms using AND and OR:
- AND narrows your search by looking for articles with all of the words (your two or three key concepts should be connected with AND, because you need all of them represented in useful articles).
- OR broadens your search by looking for articles with any of the words (synonyms and related terms should be separated by OR - they get at the same key concepts, so any of them are useful).
Try different combinations of your keywords to get better results as you search:

Databases and Web Resources for your Class

Library Databases
Web Resources

Multidisciplinary databases

Articles & More Advanced Search
This is the advanced version of the library Articles & More search.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine, some newspaper articles from across disciplines.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.

Health and Psychology-specific databases

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health) Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Journal articles on many health topics.
Updated monthly. The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes indexing for more than 5,100 journals with coverage as far back as 1937 and full text coverage for more than 700 journals. In addition to journals, includes healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, and educational software.
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Updated regularly. Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Offers full text articles, from more than 180 international, and often peer reviewed, reports, proceedings, association and consumer newsletters. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine dating back to 1990.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Articles from newspapers, journals, and trade publications on CAM.
Updated daily. Provides over 160 full-text journals in medicine, nursing, allied and consumer health. Includes full-text reference books, pamphlets, overviews of clinical topics, and indexing and abstracts for over 1500 additional titles covering patient and consumer health information.
PsycINFO (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Find Psychology literature, good for topics related to stress.
Updated monthly. Indexes and abstracts over 1,700 sources, including international material selected from periodicals written in over 35 languages. Contains current chapter and book coverage with worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present, and adds over 60,000 references annually through monthly updates. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines.
Has over 1.8 million individual records, some dating back to 1887, and includes abstracts from Psychological Abstracts back to 1927, Psychological Bulletin from 1921-1926, and all APA journals and the American Journal of Psychology back to their first issues. Corresponds in part to the print index Psychological Abstracts.

News databases

PressReader This link opens in a new window
This database contains several papers that you can browse as if you were holding a physical copy of the paper. For assignment one, look for health/science pages.
Updated daily. Provides a full-color and full-page collection of newspapers from around the world,. Includes over 1000 titles from Europe, Asia, the Middle East, Latin America, and the United States. A 60-day archive is also available to browse by country, language, and newspaper title, and to search full text of articles, photograph captions, and headlines.
Once inside the newspaper, click on a headline to read the article or zoom in to read the article as it appears in print.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated continually. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Effective January 1, 2018, Nexis Uni™ replaces LexisNexis Academic.

Google Search Tips:

Search only a specific site (ex: nih.gov) or domain (ex: .edu or .gov) by typing in your search followed by site:.org, site:.gov (ex: “dxm abuse” site:nih.gov)
Search for an exact phrase by putting your search terms in quotation marks (ex: “over the counter”)

FDA Approved Drug Products
History of the Food and Drug Administration’s (FDA) approval of over-the-counter medicines; includes similar drugs and label information.
FDA Consumer Health Information
Updates from the FDA abut potentially hazardous medicines or food products.
Dietary Supplement Label Database
Information about ingredients in more than three thousand selected brands of dietary supplements.
Dietary Supplement Fact Sheets
Links to herbal and dietary supplement information from the NIH.
National Center for Alternative and Complimentary Medicine
Fact sheets about herbs, health topics and clinical trials.

Select the Health Info tab, then select either Topics A-Z, Herbs, or Clinical Trials from the sub-tabs.
Medline Plus
Authoritative information about OTCs and supplements from the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Choose Drugs and Supplements, then search for your drug name.

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required

What are databases?

This video, from RMIT University, explains what a database is...

Where's the Article?

If you don’t see a .pdf of the article you want, click FIND IT AT UT to find it in another database or in print in the Libraries.

If it is only in print in the Libraries or we don’t own the article, click GET A SCAN to have the article emailed to you. This option will take a few days.