LibGuides: UGS 303: Road Movies and Quixotic Journeys / Reed: Research Resources

Recommended Databases

The below databases will mostly be scholarly materials

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Unlimited users.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Journals: Updated as issues are published. Project MUSE is a leading provider of humanities and social science content for the scholarly community, with complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from leading university presses and scholarly societies.
Books: Selected titles from university presses and scholarly societies. All content from the print edition of the book is included in the digital edition. There are no DRM restrictions.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide

There are scholarly articles here and there are film reviews, which are popular. You can use limiters.

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Reviews and news about films - these are primary sources (created at the time of the film's release)
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarly materials. Also, includes trade publications - these are sources created within the film industry for those in the film industry. How films are made, promoted, etc.
Updated monthly. Covers the entire spectrum of television and film writing. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Publications include Film Journal International, Journal of British Cinema & Television, Film Criticism, Post Script, Variety, as well as technical publications such as SMPTE. Mirroring the international film & television industries and cultures, FTLI also includes publications such as Cahiers du Cinema, Filmihullu, SegnoCinema, and Kinetoscopio.
Film Scripts Online This link opens in a new window
1910 - present. Unlimited users.
A collection of feature films containing over 1,100 scripts, many of which have never been published. Volume I covers American classic cinema, and Volume II expands into international and contemporary films. Includes detailed indexing on scenes, characters, and people. Supplemental information includes short biographies on the writers, and awards given to individual films have been noted. Film scholars can compare the writer’s vision with the producer’s and director’s interpretations from page to screen.

These newspapers are an another way of finding reviews written at the time of a film's release.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated continually. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
New York Times Online This link opens in a new window
1851 - present. Unlimited.

Access restricted to current UT Austin students, faculty, and staff only. New users MUST register first for free access! See our Instructions for creating your NYT account.

Access includes more than 150 years of articles, breaking news, multimedia content, Times newsletters, the International, Spanish, and Chinese editions of the Times, and teaching and learning tools. Our subscription also includes access to the NYT Cooking, Games, and The Athletic.

After creating your account, access articles, video, audio, digital images of the newspaper back to 1851, and more through the New York Times.com and the NYT mobile app.

The New York Times, published in New York City since 1851, is the largest metropolitan newspaper in the United States. The New York Times has long been an important source of reporting, information and opinion, covering politics, finance, health, science, culture, the arts, sports, and fashion in the U.S. and abroad, with special emphasis on the New York metropolitan area.