LibGuides: LAH/HMN350: Archival Research / Lang: Benson

Benson Latin American Collection

Focuses on collecting within Latin American and Latin@ Studies. In addition to circulating materials, the Benson has original manuscripts, photographs and various media related to Mexico, Central and South America, the Caribbean and Latina/Latino presence in the United States.

TARO (Texas Archival Resources Online) This link opens in a new window
Limit your search to the Benson - as you will see, this resources searches across Texas. TARO is a search tool. The collections are not available online.
Provides descriptions of the rich archival, manuscript, and museum collections in repositories across the state which are available to the public. Consists of the collection descriptions or "finding aids" that archives, libraries, and museums create to assist users in locating information in their collections. Consider these an extended table of contents which describe unique materials only available at the individual repositories. In most cases, the collections themselves are NOT available online. A list of participating TARO repositories is available.

How to use the Benson

Normal hours of operation for the Rare Books and Manuscripts reading room are 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM Monday through Friday. We are open for drop-in visits with no appointment necessary. This means that while doing independent research you may request boxes in the reading room the day you are there with no need of advance notice.

For our 2 class visits to the Benson (February 7 & 9) this semester, we need to tell them about the boxes you need ahead of time. This is because there are so many of you at once.

You may choose up to 2 boxes and will be able to view one box per visit. You can choose only 1 box for both visits if you like!

You must make your requests for materials to Dr. Lang by January 30th at 9AM.

Benson Latin American Collection location and hours
Check here for regular hours and hours that may be affected by holidays and breaks.