LibGuides: LAH/HMN350: Archival Research / Lang: Briscoe

How to Use the Briscoe

Normal hours of operation for the reading room are 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Monday through Friday.

When you visit the Center, be sure to bring your ID.

For our 2 class visits to the Briscoe (January 31st and February 2nd) this semester, we need to tell them about the boxes you need at least one week ahead of time.

You may choose up to 2 boxes and will be able to view one box per visit. You can choose only 1 box for both visits if you like!

You must make your requests for materials in your Aeon account by Tuesday January 24th.

Please record Elon Lang / TREASURE HUNT ARCHIVAL RSCH / LAH 350 in the field: Special Requests/Questions? Along with any questions you have.

Briscoe Center Location and Hours

Subject Guides

African American History Resources
Some sections are bibliographies of published materials. To find archival collections, focus on the portions titled "Archives and Manuscripts Collections," "Photographic Archives," "Music Archives," and "Newspapers."
Sara Clark Collection on Social, Political, and Environmental Reform
Labor Resources
This bibliography contains selected materials relating to the study of labor and laborers.
Latino History and Culture Resources
Slaves and Slavery Resources
Scroll down to "Archival and Manuscript Collections."

Mexican American History Resources
Online finding aids are linked to collection titles when available. If no finding aid is linked, contact the Briscoe Center for a finding aid or inventory.
Women's History Resources
Online finding aids are linked to collection titles when available. If no finding aid is linked, contact the Briscoe Center for a finding aid or inventory.

Dolph Briscoe Center for American History

This archive focuses on collecting materials related to American history, especially for Texas and the American South. The Briscoe Center's archival collections contain manuscripts, photographs, audio and visual materials in many formats, and maps.

TARO (Texas Archival Resources Online) This link opens in a new window
Use the Advanced Search and limit your search to UT Austin Dolph Briscoe Center - as you will see, this resources searches across Texas. TARO is a search tool that finds descriptions of archival collections. The collections themselves are not available online--you have to go into the archive to see them.
Provides descriptions of the rich archival, manuscript, and museum collections in repositories across the state which are available to the public. Consists of the collection descriptions or "finding aids" that archives, libraries, and museums create to assist users in locating information in their collections. Consider these an extended table of contents which describe unique materials only available at the individual repositories. In most cases, the collections themselves are NOT available online. A list of participating TARO repositories is available.