Skip to Main Content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

Find Funding Opportunities

This guide is intended to help University of Texas at Austin faculty, staff, and students find funding opportunities.

Foundations and the Texas Grants Resource Center

Texas Grants Resource Center

The Texas Grants Resource Center, part of the University of Texas at Austin, is an important resource for help in accessing funding information:

  • Staff offer regular orientation sessions; guides, and individual and group appointments.
  • It is a location for premium access to the Foundation Center database of foundation information, the Foundation Directory Online - Professional.
  • On request, staff provide a direct link to the Foundation Center's basic database, Foundation Directory Online - Essential.
  • Information on the physical location is given here: Visit Us
    • Note that the Center has been closed to in-person visitors.
    • Please be sure to call ahead if you are thinking of going in person.

Finding the Right Foundation

We expect foundations to have money but not necessarily to advertise its availability.  Those who seek foundation funding look for a suitable match; that is, foundations with matching interests and sufficient funds.  For this information:

  • Candid is an organization combining two familiar names in the business of providing foundation information, Foundation Center and Guidestar.  On the Candid page, see "Candid at a Glance" (at the top right) for a list of available databases and products.

    • The Foundation Center has been doing this for a long time.  Staff collect information about foundations (including those without websites) and create a searchable database of foundation information.  The Center also offers a basic version of their searchable database.  The Texas Grants Resource Center arranges for access:  Foundation Directory Online - Essential.  For a comparison of the basic and preminum versions, along with pricing, see the information page

    • Guidestar claims to be "the world's largest source of information on nonprofit organizations," including foundations.  There's a basic search option and a "premium" option.

  • NOZA provides "the world’s largest searchable database of charitable donations," including foundation grants.  Some information is offered for free, though payment is required for advanced options.

 

Foundation Directory Online - Professional

The "professional" version (that is, the version offering more information and more options) of Foundation Directory Online is available through the Texas Grants Resource Center and to card-holders with Austin Public Library.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.