Updated perodically. A multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture sponsored by the Texas State Historical Association and the University of Texas Libraries.
Alternative and independent press in the US. There are ways to limit to location in this resource.
Updated monthly. Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press in America. Includes a broad range of critical issues confronting contemporary society, such as ecology and the environment, grassroots organizing, labor, indigenous peoples, and public policy.
Ethnic, minority and native press in the US. There are ways to limit to location in this resource.
Updated monthly. Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America (some international coverage). Includes more than 400,000 full-text articles from 200 publications.
Has Austin American Statesman, Dallas Morning News and some other regional papers for Texas.
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Nationwide historical record of measures that were proposed to be on the ballot and those that made it on the ballot, as well as some reporting on ballots.
Updated continually. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Research Tips
Coverage of local events can sometimes be found in national publications as well. Search using keywords related to the specific area and the topic (ex: Top ten percent law AND Texas).
Even if your topic is not directly covered in a non-local source, you can often find important information about larger issues or controversies related to your topic (ex: If your topic is the Texas top ten percent law, the larger issue is affirmative action in education).
Newspaper search
Use this search to limit to newspapers in our collection. Add Texas (or a town, city) as a keyword, if applicable.
