Finding Articles in Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers - Plus Conference Papers - ME 333T - Engineering Communication - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

Finding Research Papers, Magazine Articles, & Newspaper Articles

For help in finding articles, we recommend using indexing tools. Some indexes only index; some index and include text for some of the articles. Always, though, you should see the citation for the article. This helps find the text for the article in the UT subscriptions. These databases are some of our favorites.

You will get totally worn out if you use all of them, so it is better to focus your efforts. Academic Search Complete is a good place to start. Each of the others has a special job or feature.

Also, the Libraries offer many other databases which index articles. There's a big list. Included in these databases are full-text products from society publishers such as the American Chemical Society (ACS), IEEE, ASME, ASCE, and others. (See below for some that may be of particular interest.)

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary with good coverage of engineering and related subject areas. Much full-text.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes the literature of business and management, with much full-text. Expect to find coverage of the business side of engineering topics.
Updated monthly. A scholarly business database providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included.
Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals. Contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database.
Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
Indexes the research literature of engineering across disciplines. May be searched with Inspec and with GeoRef.
more...
Updated weekly. Ei Compendex indexes the research literature of the field of engineering. The product contains more than 17 million total records. Over a million new records, with abstracts, are added per year. More than 3,600 journals and 4,100 conference publications and trade magazines are currently indexed. Customizable e-mail or RSS alerts are available.
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
Indexes the research literature of physics, control, and electrical & computer engineering.
Updated weekly. Indexes the research literature of physics; electrical engineering and electronics; & computers and control. Offers over 15 million records and strong international coverage. The archive portion, which was formerly separate, is now integrated with the current file.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Premier index to the research literature of medicine. Also available as MEDLINE (ISI) and (with some content differences) as PubMed.
Updated monthly. Provides bibliographic indexing from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Contains bibliographic citations (e.g., authors, title, and journal reference) and author abstracts from 4,500 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 foreign countries.
Journal articles are indexed for MEDLINE using NLM's controlled vocabulary, MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Citations are created by the National Library of Medicine, International MEDLARS partners, and cooperating professional organizations.
MEDLINE has worldwide coverage, but 88% of the citations in current MEDLINE are to English-language sources and 76% have English abstracts.
NLM provides free access to MEDLINE through PubMed.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Indexes the research literature of medicine. Overlaps with Medline/PubMed and also includes additional European and pharmaceutical literature.
Embase provides coverage of the biomedical literature, with over 31 million records from over 8,500 currently published journals, including over 7 million records and more than 3,000 journals that are not covered by MEDLINE. Offers extensive coverage of searchable conference abstracts dating back to 2009. It currently indexes over 6,000 conferences covering ~350,000 conference abstracts each year. Embase uses Emtree, the Elsevier Life Science thesaurus: a hierarchically structured, controlled vocabulary for biomedicine and the related life sciences. It includes a range of terms for drugs, diseases, medical devices and essential life science concepts
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides wide-ranging interdisciplinary subject indexing of the journal and conference literature. Especially important for its cited-reference search feature.
Updated weekly. The Web of Science Core Collection is a group of databases (Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1900-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) that together cover more than 21,000 journals across all disciplines. The Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present) tracks thousands of additional journals that are being considered for inclusion in the main citation indexes. Other files track references from conference proceedings (1990-present) and citations to books (2005-present).
The Web of Science platform currently also provides temporary access to several databases that are not part of the Core Collection, including Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and Zoological Record.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
A full-text service, including access to business journals, wire services, and newspapers. Has the full text of the Wall Street Journal. Expect news updates and longer pieces of analysis.
Updated daily. A global information resource, providing full-text access to top national and international newspapers (including full text of the Wall Street Journal), newswires, business journals, market research reports, analysts reports and web sites. Contains over 8000 publications with content from 118 countries in 22 languages.
This database was formerly called Dow Jones Interactive.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text service. Includes a wide range of sources, including news outlets from around the world, U.S. newspapers from larger and smaller markets, and legal publications.
Updated continually. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Effective January 1, 2018, Nexis Uni™ replaces LexisNexis Academic.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Aims to help researchers get the other point of view.
Updated daily. Provides full text access to differing points of view on current social issues. Brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, biographies of social activists, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles, as well as links to more than 1,800 reviewed and subject-indexed web sites.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth analysis of each examined topic.
Updated weekly. Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. Every report is written by an experienced journalist and features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue with numerous charts, graphs and sidebar articles.
Gale in Context: Science This link opens in a new window
Brings together information on current topics of interest in science and technology.
Provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

This is a special category of databases. The databases focus on the publications from one or a few societies. Be sure to also use a more comprehensive indexing product (such as Compendex) to include more complete coverage of the literature.

SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new window
Society of Automotive Engineers conference and journal papers.
Updated regularly. Providing resources on technologies related to the automotive, aerospace, and commercial vehicle industries. Including:
- SAE Technical papers, 1906+
- SAE Journals, 2008+
- SAE Magazines, 2023+
- SAE E-Books, 1990+
- SAE Standards, current version
- Ground vehicle
- Aerospace
- Aerospace Material Specifications
OnePetro This link opens in a new window
From the Society of Petroleum Engineers, with indexing and full-text of their papers and journals. Also includes materials from a group of closely-related groups.
Updated regularly. A multi-society library that provides a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry.
Currently indexes more than 80,000 documents, with more being added frequently.
The following organizations are among those with their conference papers and technical documents indexed through OnePetro:
- American Rock Mechanics Association (ARMA)
- American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE)
- Offshore Technology Conference (OTC)
- NACE International (corrosion engineers)
- Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) **includes full-text
- Society of Petrophysicists and Well Log Analysts (SPWLA)
- The Society of Underwater Technology (SUT)
- World Petroleum Council (WPC)
ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) Digital Library (Current) This link opens in a new window
Indexing --- along with lots of full text --- of the publications of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
Updated weekly. Provides online access to all available volumes of the technical journals of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), the complete set of ASME conference papers starting with 2002, and many older ASME conference papers.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
The full-text database of the IEEE, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. Content starts with electrical engineering and goes well beyond.
Updated daily. Provides full-text access to IEEE and IET (formerly IEE) journal articles and conference proceedings. Also includes IEEE technical standards and conference proceedings from VDE Verlag. Coverage is the research literature of electrical and computer engineering, electronics, computer science, aerospace engineering, biomedical engineering, and transportation. Contains over three million records, with some content back to 1872. Also contains indexing from partner groups.
To see the publications to which UT-Austin has access, sign in and click in the navigation bar.
In search results, the subscription identifier icon indicates documents where the UT-Austin subscription enables full-text access.

"Find it at UT"

Be sure and use this helpful tool

When you see Find it at UT, or a similar phrase, usually you will want to click on it. The hope is to find the text of a journal article or information about electronic holdings of a journal.

Get a Scan

To request a copy of a paper you don't find, go to the Get a Scan form.