Find Articles - UGS 303: Stress Management - Schnyer - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

Find Articles on a Topic

Keywords and Database Searching
Choose a Database

Keyword tool
Use this tool to help you brainstorm keywords on your topic.

Searching databases is different than searching Google. Distil what you're looking for into a few key terms or phrases

Write down your topic and underline the main concepts (ex. Do breathing exercises reduce stress in adolescents? )

For each main concept, brainstorm a few synonyms and related terms (broader or narrower) that get at that concept:

Key Concepts

Breathing Exercises

Stress

Adolescents

Related Terms

controlled breath

yogic breathing

Anxiety

Psychological Stress

Teens

young adults

Combine key terms using AND and OR:
- AND narrows your search by looking for articles with all of the words (your two or three key concepts should be connected with AND, because you need all of them represented in useful articles).
- OR broadens your search by looking for articles with any of the words (synonyms and related terms should be separated by OR - they get at the same key concepts, so any of them are useful).
Try different combinations of your keywords to get better results as you search.

Single articles on a topic are found in our library databases. The UT Libraries pay to have access to these databases and the articles they contain.

You can search in databases that are multidisciplinary or subject-specific:

Type of Database

About

Start Here

Multidisciplinary

Include popular and scholarly articles on all topics
Useful if scholars from multiple disciplines would write about your topic or if you don't know where to start
Great for assignments in UGS and other undergraduate courses where you may only need a few sources

Academic Search Complete

Subject-specific

Include scholarly and specialized articles from a specific discipline
To choose a database, think about what department on campus would have scholars researching your topic, then use the "All Subjects" dropdown menu on the databases page to find that department. (ex. PsycINFO for Psychology topics)

See the course-specific list below

Databases List (use the "All Subjects" dropdown menu)

Learn more about databases with the video in the right column.

See search examples on the second tab in this box, "Keywords and Database Searching"

Databases

Multidisciplinary databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
1990 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.

Articles & more - advanced search
The advanced search version of the UT Libraries articles and more search from the library homepage.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.

Psychology Database

PsycINFO (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
1887 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Indexes and abstracts over 1,700 sources, including international material selected from periodicals written in over 35 languages. Contains current chapter and book coverage with worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present, and adds over 60,000 references annually through monthly updates. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines.
Has over 1.8 million individual records, some dating back to 1887, and includes abstracts from Psychological Abstracts back to 1927, Psychological Bulletin from 1921-1926, and all APA journals and the American Journal of Psychology back to their first issues. Corresponds in part to the print index Psychological Abstracts.

Health/Medicine Databases

Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
1990 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Offers full text articles, from more than 180 international, and often peer reviewed, reports, proceedings, association and consumer newsletters. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine dating back to 1990.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health) Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
1937 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes indexing for more than 5,100 journals with coverage as far back as 1937 and full text coverage for more than 700 journals. In addition to journals, includes healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, and educational software.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Updated weekly. Provides access to over 10 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases. Links to the full text articles are provided when available, subject to UT subscription status.
Create and customize a My NCBI account.
1. Select My NCBI
2. Select NCBI Site Preferences
3. Under PubMed Preferences, select Outside Tool
4. Select F and scroll down to select Find it@UT
5. Scroll to the bottom of the page and SAVE
This will cause references to display the link to our holdings.
Updated weekly. Provides access to over 36 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases. Links to the full text articles are provided when available, subject to UT subscription status. Authenticating with UT EID will ensure the Findit@UT button is available in search results.

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required

What are databases?

This video, from RMIT University, explains what a database is...

Where's the Article?

If you don’t see a .pdf of the article you want, click FIND IT AT UT to find it in another database or in print in the Libraries.

If it is only in print in the Libraries or we don’t own the article, click GET A SCAN to have the article emailed to you. This option will take a few days.