Cross-Cultural Collaboration - BME 333T - Engineering Communication - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

Working Across Borders

Cross-Cultural

Databases for Finding Journal Articles:

To find journal articles on cross-cultural collaboration, search the usual databases; see the articles page.
We especially recommend:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary with good coverage of engineering and related subject areas. Covers recent news stories and offers full-text for many articles. This is the index to articles most often recommend by library staff.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes the literature of business and management, with much full-text. Expect to find coverage of the business side of engineering topics.
Updated monthly. A scholarly business database providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included.
Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals. Contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database.
Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.

Recommended search terms:

We see two major, and somewhat different, themes.

International. International and engineering and collaboration

-adding "global" helps give the added sense of global-scale project. International and engineering and collaboration and global

Cultural. (cross-national or cross-cultural or intercultural or multicultural) and engineering and collaboration

Information in Books:

The Books page has details on using the

Library Catalog

to search for electronic books in the University Libraries collection. Search results --- it is fine to start with a keyword search --- may be limited to by "location" to -electronic resources.

Recommended Search Terms:

Search terms are harder here. One likely search is a keyword search on: Cross Cultural Engineering.

One interesting book is:

Culture Matters by Susan Sauer Sloan (Editor); Joe Alper (Editor); Planning Committee for the Workshop on Culture Matters: An Approach to International Research Agreements; Government-University-Industry Research Roundtable; Policy and Global Affairs; National Academy of Sciences; National Academy of Engineering; Institute of Medicine
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9780309308960
Publication Date: 2014-09-12

Remember Google Books as a big help in searching book content:

Google Book Search This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Searches complete text of books from selected library collections and publishers. Search works just like a regular Google search -- when book content contains a match for selected search terms, Google provides links to it in the search results. Depending on a few factors, Google displays everything from a few short excerpts to the entire book.
Each book includes an "About this book" page with basic bibliographic data like title, author, publication date, length and subject. For some books, additional information like key terms and phrases, references to the book from scholarly publications or other books, chapter titles and a list of related books.