2019 Passport to UT

You can use Search on the Library homepage to search across various book and article databases simultaneously. Many article databases, however, aren’t included in that search tool. To find the best resources for your topic, you might want to go directly to a specific database.

Find the best database(s) for your research topic:

• General, multidiscipinary databases are a good place to start since they include both popular and scholarly journal titles covering numerous disciplines. Simply choose one of those databases and type in your keywords to begin to find articles. 

• Academic Search Complete: multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports.
• Gale Virtual Reference Library:  A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. 
• Nexis Uni: provides a wide variety of authoritative sources (usually with full text content), including, but not limited to full text of more than 350 newspapers from the U.S. and around the world.

• Browse for databases by subject (such as Economics, Electrical Engineering, or Art History) if you want to dig deeper into resources covering a specific discipline. If you aren’t sure what subject to choose, look for the academic department that your class is listed under. Once you’ve chosen a subject, search for your topic in one or two of the recommended databases that are listed on the right side of the subject page.

• Browse for databases by type if you want to find other kinds of formats, such as encyclopedias, newspapers, government information sources, statistics, maps, images and more.

If you have an article citation:

• The Citation Linker will look across various databases to find whether or not we have access to the article online or in a journal on the library shelves. You need a journal title and publication date to use the Citation linker. 

If you are looking for articles by a particular author:

• google scholar: provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources.