LibGuides: UGS 303: Education and Black America / Foster: Find News and Viewpoints

These are not peer reviewed, so why do I care?

You are likely very goal-focused right now and you want to find six peer reviewed academic journal articles. Newspapers and magazines never go through the peer reviewed process. So why am I including this option for you?

The information in journals is not meant to cover current events - do you want to highlight an example of the issue you are tackling in your paper, say an incident or an individual's perspective?
Academic journal articles may study and gather data from local communities, but maybe not the one you are interested in. Can you find stories about the location you are interested in the news and then link those stories to the research findings in journal articles?
Who does research? What do researchers choose to research? If you are missing perspectives in your journal articles, you may try a news source instead. Academic research does not always represent marginalized voices. Research done in academia isn't always as diverse as our communities.
These resources are ideal for accessing opposing viewpoints - discover controversies and solutions in the news and search for them in academic articles

Liberal and Conservative Publications

Click on a title and choose a database to search the full text of that magazine for your topic.

Liberal	Conservative
American Prospect	American Conservative
Dissent	American Enterprise
In These Times	American Spectator
Mother Jones	Commentary
The Nation	Human Events
The Progressive	National Review
Tikkun	Policy Review
The New Republic	Weekly Standard
Washington Monthly	World

Note: This is a partial list of popular magazines. Other publications not included on this list may have a strong political viewpoint or bias.

Also try...

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
See viewpoints from...you guessed it, opposing sides.
Updated daily. Provides full text access to differing points of view on current social issues. Brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, biographies of social activists, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles, as well as links to more than 1,800 reviewed and subject-indexed web sites.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
For many searches, you may be able to limit to Debates which are laid out as point/counterpoint.
Platform for Sage eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more. Only select ebook titles purchased by the UT Libraries are fully accessible.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide

The New York Times

The New York Times offers incomparable coverage of national and international news.

As a UT student, you have free unlimited access to the New York Times at nyt.com. This includes Cooking, Games and the Athletic. Your access to nyt is directly through the site and the app, not through our databases, which makes the reading experience easier and more enjoyable.

You may download the nyt app to your phone and access the full subscription.

Being an informed citizen makes doing research in every subject easier, makes you a better communicator and a more empathetic human.

Use this guide to set up your account.