Skip to Main Content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

UGS 302- Motherhood in America - Gutterman

Find Articles

Search Strategy Document

Find Articles on a Topic

 

Source Type Start Here

Scholarly Articles

The library databases, see recommendations below
Journalism/News Google or the UT Libraries NexisUni database. Make sure to evaluate unfamiliar publications. 
Other Primary Sources This guide will help you think about what a primary source is; Google might be a starting place to locate your primary source. If you have questions, ask your librarian or professor. 

Searching databases is different than searching Google. Distil what you're looking for into a few key terms or phrases. This is a keyword strategy for finding more articles on motherhood and disability (like our sample articles)

Mother* Disability USA?
birth Chronic Illness  
Parenting Specific disability/illness  
Pregnancy disabled children  
  physical disability/mental disability  
  1. Combine key terms using AND and OR:​​
    • AND narrows your search by looking for articles with all of the words (your two or three key concepts should be connected with AND, because you need all of them represented in useful articles). 
    • OR broadens your search by looking for articles with any of the words (synonyms and related terms should be separated by OR - they get at the same key concepts, so any of them are useful).
  2. Try different combinations of your keywords to get better results as you search.

Databases

Find scholarly articles in databases

Find news in a library database

Find encyclopedia articles in a database

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required

What are databases?

This video, from RMIT University, explains what a database is...

Where's the Article?

If you don’t see a .pdf of the article you want, click Find it to find it in another database or in print in the Libraries.

If it is only in print in the Libraries or we don’t own the article, click Get scan to have the article emailed to you. This option will take a few days.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.