LibGuides: UGS 303: The Math of Politics / Jessee: Searching for scholarly articles

Peer reviewed, refereed, scholarly, academic sources

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
interdisciplinary archive of scholarship
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Members of the public can read online up to three articles for free every two weeks from a large subset of JSTOR journals via the Register & Read program. This program allows remote access. Non-UT students, faculty and staff who need more articles can contact library staff for other access options.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Use this proxy link when searching GS so it recognizes you as a UT affiliate.
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.

Advanced searches

Advanced searches allow you to be very deliberate and specific in your searches. They also allow for some flexibility.

Do mental health issues impact graduation rates in high school?

Mental health issues? Which ones? Depression or anxiety or stress? Using OR between our word choices asks the database to search all of the terms, but only one needs to be present in each result.

This search also demonstrates the option to limit to Peer Reviewed in this database.