Databases & Websites

Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) This link opens in a new window
1920 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides indexing for some 400 periodicals, including full text for over 200 titles, in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). CommSearch offered bibliographic and keyword references to 26 journals in communication studies, with coverage extending to the inaugural issue of each -- some from as far back 1915. It also included cover-to-cover indices of NCA's six journals (from their first editions to the present), and abstracts from their earliest appearance in NCA journals. Mass Media Articles Index provided citation coverage of over 40,000 articles related to mass media and published in over 60 research journals, as well as major journalism reviews, recent encyclopedias, and handbooks in the area of communications studies.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides a collection of legal periodicals, reproducing the original image of each article. Includes over 1,200 law review journals containing more than 600,000 articles from 21,000 volumes.

Also provides access to the following:
- Federal Register
- Statutes at Large (the official source for the laws and resolutions passed by Congress, browseable by volume, popular name or treaty)
- U.S. Supreme Court Library
Access to this resource is funded by the Tarlton Law Library at the Jamail Center for Legal Research.

Restricted to current UT students, faculty and staff. Not available to Official UT Retirees
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
1965 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. A collection of scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies. Covers current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, and the environment. Offers full text for nearly 250 international law journals. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated continually. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

Alt-Press Watch This link opens in a new window
1970 - present. 4 users.
Updated monthly. Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press in America. Includes a broad range of critical issues confronting contemporary society, such as ecology and the environment, grassroots organizing, labor, indigenous peoples, and public policy.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
1985 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America (some international coverage). Includes more than 400,000 full-text articles from 200 publications.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. 9 users.
Updated daily. A global information resource, providing full-text access to top national and international newspapers (including full text of the Wall Street Journal), newswires, business journals, market research reports, analysts reports and web sites. Contains over 8000 publications with content from 118 countries in 22 languages.
This database was formerly called Dow Jones Interactive.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Latin American Newsstand This link opens in a new window
2005 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Provides full text access to 41 newspapers from Puerto Rico and 11 Latin American countries with complete articles in ASCII format. Includes papers from Mexico, Argentina, and Brazil. Content is in Spanish and Portuguese.
Key newspaper titles include El Universal, Mexico City's largest-selling newspaper; O Globo (Brazil); La Nacion (Argentina); and El Mercurio (Chile). Three business titles, El Economista (Mexico), Valor Economico (Brazil), and Portafolio (Colombia) are also important resources for researchers.
A complete title list is available.
MidEast Wire This link opens in a new window
2005 - present. 5 users.
Updated daily. Offers brief English translations taken from the media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora. Covers key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces.
To search by country and/or topic, select Archives Search, Advance Search button in the right screen column.
We have a limited number of users for this database. Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again. And while the screen might request login information at other times as well, our access does not require any additional authentication.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated continually. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
August, 1968 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Provides a searchable archive of abstracts of news broadcasts from 1968 to present (ABC, CBS, NBC), 1995 to present (CNN), and selected content from PBS and FOX News. Digitized news broadcasts and special news-related programming from CNN, such as political campaigns, news conferences, and presidential speeches, are viewable with the RealOne media player. In the Advanced search you can exclude the News segments and see only the commercials.
Also includes more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989. These special reports and periodic news broadcasts cover presidential press conferences and political campaign coverage, and national and international events such as the Watergate hearings, the plight of American hostages in Iran, the Persian Gulf war, and the terrorist attack on the United States on September 11, 2001.
Note: The Archive offers video streams that are duplications of entire broadcasts. Broadcasts from CNN and NBC can be streamed; broadcasts from all sources, including ABC, CBS, and Fox, can be loaned and downloaded in MP4 format after creating an account and paying a duplication fee ($17 per clip + a $10 processing fee). See Request a Loan from the Collection for more information.
World News Connection This link opens in a new window
1995 - 2013. Unlimited users.
Contains materials provided to the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). The reports are full text, English translations of foreign news sources and information. Many of the materials are copyrighted. Particularly effective in its coverage of local media sources. Compiled from thousands of worldwide media sources.

Berkman Klein Center
Reports from Harvard's Berkman Klein Center for Internet & Society.
Pew Research Center
Data and reports on trends and significant social issues.

Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
1986 - present. 4 users.
Updated monthly. A comprehensive compilation of public opinion surveys, containing the full text of more than 350,000 questions and responses from 14,000 surveys conducted by 700 polling organizations in the United States and more than 80 other countries.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research This link opens in a new window
1937 - present. Unlimited users.
Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.
ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
1993 - present. Unlimited users.
In order to download datasets and documentation, UT users must create an account and login using their @utexas.edu or @austin.utexas.edu email account, in order to be recognized as being affiliated with a member institution.

ICPSR is the world's largest archive of computer readable social science data, containing more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Available data can be browsed by topic or searched.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Statista provides statistical data from thousands of institutions and sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government agencies.
Statista includes data on more than 85,000 topics from 18,000 sources. About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census, but the data also includes numerous exclusive sources which include industry, marketing, and trade groups. Much of the data is related to marketing, demographic, government and industry information, and is international in scope. Data can be downloaded in JPG, PowerPoint and Excel.
While historical and time series data are not a focus of Statista, the metadata about each table provides all the necessary information to go to the table’s source, where historical information may be available.