LibGuides: Digital Humanities Tools and Resources: Resources

Digital Humanities Journals

AC/E Digital Culture Annual Report
AC/E digital culture annual report is "a publication that sets out to promote digital internet culture... to help sector professionals and creators understand how to incorporate digital technologies into their work."
Digital Humanities Quarterly
An open-access, peer-reviewed journal Published by the Alliance of Digital Humanities Organizations.
Digital Humanities Series
The Digital Humanities Series is a series of books raising and addressing questions in humanities from mass digitization to hyperactive social media in a number of different disciplines.
Digital Literary Studies
An open-access, peer-reviewed digital humanities journal focused in literary studies.
Digital Medievalist
An online journal on digital scholarship, theory, and emerging tutorials and projects for medievalist scholars.
Digital Scholarship in the Humanities
A peer-reviewed, international digital humanities journal available through UT Libraries.
International Journal of Digital Humanities
A journal with a focus on the development and application of digital research methods within humanities, as well as the historical and current practices surrounding these tools.
International Journal of Humanities and Arts Computing
An online, peer-reviewed journal for multi-disciplinary scholarship on digital arts and humanities topics.
Journal of the American Society for Information Science and Technology
A long running, peer reviewed journal "publishing original research that focuses on the production, discovery, recording, storage, representation, retrieval, presentation, manipulation, dissemination, use, and evaluation of information and on the tools and techniques associated with these processes."
Journal of Cultural Analytics
Cultural Analytics is an open-access journal dedicated to the computational study of culture. Its aim is to promote high quality scholarship that applies computational and quantitative methods to the study of cultural objects (sound, image, text), cultural processes (reading, listening, searching, sorting, hierarchizing) and cultural agents (artists, editors, producers, composers).
Journal for the Japanese Association for Digital Humanities
A publication for the Japanese Association for Digital Humanities, whose goal is to facilitate collaboration between Japanese digital humanities researchers and their Western counterparts.
Kairos
A popular, peer-reviewed online journal that explores “the intersections of rhetoric, technology, and pedagogy.”
Reviews in DH
Reviews in Digital Humanities, edited by Dr. Jennifer Guiliano and Dr. Roopika Risam, is the pilot of a peer-reviewed journal and project registry that facilitates scholarly evaluation and dissemination of digital humanities work and its outputs.

Learning and Using Digital Tools

ArcGIS StoryMaps
Story maps is a presentation and visualization tool with versatile options. Geographic visualization from ArcGIS can be integrated into StoryMaps natively and scrolling stories or slides can be created.
#dariahTeach
"#dariahTeach is an open source, multilingual, community-driven platform for high quality teaching and training materials for the digital arts and humanities."
dh + lib
An online resource for librarians, archivists, and students.
LinkedIn Learning
A library of instructional videos on a wide range of topics provided to UT student, faculty, and staff. Topics that relate to the digital humanities featured on the site include introductory Python, design basics, data analysis, and more.
The Programming Historian
A peer-reviewed site that provides a number of well-written tutorials on digital humanities tools.
TaPOR- Text Analysis Portal for Research
A directory of digital humanities tools organized by type. (Formerly the DiRT Directory, now merged with TaPOR)

Professional Organizations

HASTAC
HASTAC (Humanities, Arts, Science, and Technology Alliance and Collaboratory) is an interdisciplinary community of humanists, artists, social scientists, scientists, and technologists.
ADHO
The Alliance of Digital Humanities Organizations (ADHO) promotes and supports digital research and teaching across all arts and humanities disciplines, acting as a community-based advisory force, and supporting excellence in research, publication, collaboration and training.
ACH
The Association for Computers and the Humanities is a professional society for the digital humanities. Through their activities, conferences, and publications, they support computer-assisted research, teaching, and software and content development in humanistic disciplines.

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) This link opens in a new window
Updated regularly. Provides indexing for more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Updated regularly. Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. Includes archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Journals: Updated as issues are published. Project MUSE is a leading provider of humanities and social science content for the scholarly community, with complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from leading university presses and scholarly societies.
Books: Selected titles from university presses and scholarly societies. All content from the print edition of the book is included in the digital edition. There are no DRM restrictions.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
MLA International Bibliography
Updated ten times per year. Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 4,400 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Produced by the Modern Language Association.

Keywords

List of Keywords to use in the Catalog and Database Searches:

Digital Humanities, DH, Digital Scholarship, Computational Methods, New Media, Dgital Media, Data Mining, Humanities Information Systems, Humanities Technological Innovations, Distance Reading, Emerging Technologies, Digital Pedagogy, Digital Archiving, Humanities Methodology, E-Publication, Mapping, Neography, Network Analysis.