The Initiative for Digital Humanities (IDH) provides a nexus for humanities and digital studies at the University of Texas Austin. Collaborative and interdisciplinary, the IDH network crosses the humanities and the social sciences within and beyond the College of Liberal Arts to support faculty, students, and staff who apply digital technologies and computational methods to humanities questions and subject technology to humanistic interrogation. IDH aims to support and connect Digital Humanities research through consultation, seed and bridge funding, grant writing and management support, and coordinated programming, including discussion groups and a lecture series.
The Digital Humanities represent the area of study where humanities disciplines and studies in information engage digital tools, archives, artifacts, and information technologies. This certificate is designed to introduce students to the ideas, materials, and computational tools that underlie this field. It is open to students of all majors. The DH Certificate will harness students’ engagement with and excitement about digital technologies and media and put that energy to use in a flexible curriculum that requires both skills acquisition and critical inquiry.
The School of Information (iSchool) and the Department of English at the University of Texas at Austin offer a dual-degree program leading to the Master of Arts (MA) degree in English and the Master of Science in Information Studies (MSInfoStds) degree.
The DH Portfolio will harness students’ engagement with and excitement about digital technologies and media and put that energy to use in a flexible curriculum that requires both the acquisition of new methods and new areas of critical inquiry.
The Digital Scholarship Collaborative (DiSCO) is a campus-wide working group of graduate students at UT-Austin that are interested in digital scholarship. The working group is open to all levels of interest and expertise. If you would like to stay up-to-date on future DiSCO events, please subscribe to firstname.lastname@example.org.
JapanLab will generate a steady stream of Japan-focused educational video games and other Digital Humanities content designed by undergraduates that can be used in high school and college classrooms across the world. The project aims to integrate digital dexterities across different aspects of the Japanese Studies curriculum while creating a specialized space where students can work collaboratively to develop a wide array of digital resources.
"Since 1992, the Teresa Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies at The University of Texas at Austin has been the institutional home of the Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC). Through partnerships with organizations in Latin America and globally, LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to online information on, from, or about Latin America."
"The Benson Latin American Collection and LLILAS host or have been partners in a broad array of digital projects and initiatives. We invite you to learn more about these rich collections, or browse and search their contents."
"The DS Lab staff provides consultations on individual research projects ranging from the exploratory/conceptual to the final stage and the use of digital tools/methods, and special collections to facilitate, reinvigorate, and transform research and teaching. We also train on specific digital tools used in research and analysis, methods for applied-use of digital special collection assets, and the introduction of digital tools and content into curricula."
Texas Student Digital Humanities (TSDH) are a vibrant and supportive community of scholars who are dedicated to exploring the intersection of technology and the humanities. Their goal is to help researchers and students alike become better scholars by providing a space for discussion and collaboration.
"AILLA is a digital archive of recordings and texts in and about the indigenous languages of Latin America. Access to AILLA and its resources is always free of charge. Most of the resources in the collection are available to the public, but some have special access restrictions. "
Atlas of a Medieval Life: The Itineraries of Roger de Breynton explores the ways in which computational methodologies and data-visualization platforms can bring the medieval subfields of literary studies, cartography, and biography into fruitful dialogue.
Dante Worlds is “an integrated multimedia journey--combining artistic images, textual commentary, and audio recordings--through the three realms of the afterlife (Inferno, Purgatory, Paradise) presented in Dante's Divine Comedy.”
"A product of broad international collaboration, these digitized documents from the Guatemalan National Police Historical Archive (AHPN) aim to facilitate scholarly and legal research into a vast cache of historical documentation."
"At the core of the JapanLab experience are small teams of undergraduates who work alongside a faculty member and a Digital Humanities Developer to design a range of projects. These projects are listed below. You will find fully functional video games like Ghosts over the Water, digital games like Ready, Set, Yokohama, online exhibits like Mapping Violence and Virtual cities like Crafting Yokohama. These projects are all provided for free for use in the classroom as educational resources."
Founded in 1961, the Linguistics Research Center (LRC) provides linguistic resources for specialists and non-specialists alike. Over the last several years the LRC has worked to create a robust set of online materials dedicated to the most archaic members of the Indo-European language family, of which English is a member, and the cultures of which they formed a part. They provide these materials freely for public use.
"PeriodO is a public domain gazetteer of scholarly definitions of historical, art-historical, and archaeological periods. It eases the task of linking among datasets that define periods differently. It also helps scholars and students see where period definitions overlap or diverge."
A project sponsored by “the Lyndon Baines Johnson Presidential Library and the University of Texas at Austin's Center for Russian, East European, and Eurasian Studies to digitize archival materials from the LBJ Presidential Archive's collections.”
"Founded in 2014 by a team of humanists, biologists, and computer scientists, the Quantitative Criticism Lab explores new approaches to the study of literature and culture. Taking inspiration from a wide range of quantitative disciplines - machine learning, natural language processing, bioinformatics, and systems biology - we seek to integrate literary criticism, philology, and big data. We have a particular interest in the literature of ancient Greece and Rome and the profound influence of the Classics on later traditions."
The Texas German Dialect Project (TGDP) is an umbrella organization for carrying out research in representative Texas German speech communities in central Texas. It is housed in the Department of Germanic Studies and the Linguistics Research Center at the University of Texas at Austin.