LibGuides: E 303C: Plan II World Literatures, Dan Birkholz: Library Resources for this Class

Library Resources for This Class

This library guide was designed by Gina Bastone, the English Librarian, specifically for E 303C: World Literatures taught by Professor Dan Birkholz.

Research Help

Email Gina, your course librarian, if you run into issues finding articles and books. Her email address is g.bastone@austin.utexas.edu
Schedule a research consult – get live help from Gina, tailored to your chosen topic(s).
- In some cases, Gina may refer you to another subject specialist librarian. Email her for a referral.
Use the Ask A Librarian Chat Service, available until 9 pm, Sunday-Thursday. (This option is good for help after 5 pm.)

Below are a selection of recommended library research tools for this class. Gina will cover some of these during your class visit to the PCL on Friday, September 27. Remember – you can contact Gina any time for assistance using these tools!

Scholarly Books & Articles

JSTOR Understanding Series
This innovative tool from JSTOR allows you to browse the entire text of a literary work, and see the scholarly articles that cite particular lines of text. It's an excellent way to find scholars' close readings of a particular passage. Great for close readings of Shakespeare.

**NOTE: This resource sometimes is buggy off campus, even after you login with your UT EID. Gina recommends using it on campus for best results.

MLA International Bibliography
1926 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated ten times per year. Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 4,400 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Produced by the Modern Language Association.

Background, Theory, and Reference

Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Updated irregularly. Includes 241 alphabetically arranged entries on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. It also treats figures who did not explicitly deal with, but who still deeply affected, literature, literary theory, or literary criticism, as well as figures and kinds of inquiry from other fields that have been shaped by or have themselves shaped literary theory and criticism. Each entry includes a selective primary and secondary bibliography, and there are extensive cross references both within and at the conclusion of each entry. Chronological range extends from Plato and Aristotle to the present, with wide geographical and cultural coverage.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
2nd ed. 1989. Unlimited users.
Updated quarterly. Covers words from across the English-speaking world and offers etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and phonetic pronunciation. Corresponds to the print Oxford English Dictionary published in 1989 and the three Additions volumes published 1993-1997.

Humanities Librarian

Gina Bastone

she/they

Contact:

g.bastone@austin.utexas.edu

Subjects: Comparative Literature, Creative Writing, Disability Studies, English Literature, LGBTQ Studies, Rhetoric, Women's and Gender Studies

Ask a Librarian

Chat With Us

EID login required