LibGuides: E 314: E 314L: Banned Books & Novel Ideas, Gutierrez

Library Resources for This Class

Below are a selection of recommended library research tools for E 314L: Banned Books & Novel Ideas, taught by Analisia Gutierrez.

You will work with these resources when your class visits the PCL on Friday, October 3. English Librarian Gina Bastone is here to help you work with these tools. You can contact her anytime to get help!

Searching the PCL Stacks for a banned book?

Use this guide to find books!
Remember: You can always ask library staff at the PCL Desk for help finding a book. Your UT ID card is your library card!
American Library Association: Banned & Challenged Books
The American Library Association compiles data on book challenges from reports filed by library professionals in the field and from news stories published throughout the United States. Use this page to identify banned books from past and present.

Literary Studies Databases

Search for scholarly sources in literary studies, such as books from university presses, peer-reviewed journals, scholarly bibliographies, and more.

Gale Literature Resource Center
Good for: Topic overviews, brainstorming, getting a bird's eye view!
Includes: Scholarly journals, overview pages, reference sources like the Dictionary of Literary Biography.
MLA International Bibliography
Good for: Highly curated scholarly books and journals, the "go-to" database for literary studies.
Includes: Scholarly books, book chapters, journal articles, dissertations.
Note: This database is from the Modern Language Association. It's the same organization that created the citation style, but you'll use this in a very different way.

Go Further!

Not finding what you need, or want to explore interdisciplinary topics? Here are some broader library databases to explore.

JSTOR
Good for: Broad searches across multiple scholarly disciplines.
Includes: Scholarly journals, books, and book chapters across hundreds of subjects.
Note: JSTOR stands for "journal storage," and much of the content skews older.
Project MUSE
Good for: Broad searches across the humanities and arts. Particularly strong for journals in literary studies.
Includes: Scholarly journals, books, and book chapters.