LibGuides: E 314: E 314V: Apocalyptic Imaginations, Potter

Library Resources for This Class

Below are a selection of recommended library research tools for E 314V: Women, Gender, Literature, and Culture: Apocalyptic Imaginations, taught by Shannon Potter.

You will work with these resources when your class visits the PCL on Tuesday, September 23. English Librarian Gina Bastone is here to help you work with these tools. You can contact her anytime to get help!

Library Databases

Search for scholarly sources, such as books from university presses, peer-reviewed journals, scholarly bibliographies, and more.

MLA International Bibliography
MLA is a literary studies database. The scholarly books and articles you'll find here focus on literature. Keep this in mind as you search for your keyword.
Search tip: Pay attention to the subject terms. They're linked, and when you combine with your own terms, you can get better results sometimes.
Project MUSE
Project Muse is an important database for humanities journals and scholarly books. It's broader and more interdisciplinary than MLA.
Search tip: Go to "Browse", then click on the three-bar menu to select "Advanced Search." This will allow you to combine search terms.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Oxford Bibliographies is a life-saver. I'm not exaggerating. It's a collection of annotated bibliographies created by scholars who are experts in their respective fields.
Search tip: Use 1-2 search terms. Keep them brief and highly specific. If you have questions about searching this one, please ask Gina!
JSTOR
JSTOR stands for "journal storage," and it largely holds old backfiles of journals. It covers many disciplines.
Search tip: Because JSTOR is so large and multidisciplinary, you may need to use more search terms or use the filters on the left margin to narrow your results. You may have to revise your search a few times to get something relevant.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a bit of an outlier among these library databases because the library doesn't pay for access. Use the box below to start a Google Scholar search.

Search tip: Use the three-bar menu to find Advanced Search settings, which can help you make your search more specific.

Free-write prompt, Sep. 23

The goal for today’s lesson was to guide you through noticing how researchers and librarians use scholarly vocabulary in description, metadata, and cataloging. Think about your experiences in the two in-class activities.

What was it like to compare your terms and vocabulary with what you found in the library sources?

How might these in-class activities inform your search process as you work on your bibliography and keyword project?