Finding Articles - MNS 367K - Human Exploration/Exploitation of the Sea - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

Choose a Database

Single articles on a topic are found in our library databases. The UT Libraries pay to have access to these databases and the articles they contain.

You can search in databases that are multidisciplinary or subject-specific:

Type of Database

About

Start Here

Multidisciplinary

Include popular and scholarly articles on all topics
Useful if scholars from multiple disciplines would write about your topic or if you don't know where to start
Great for assignments in UGS and other undergraduate courses where you may only need a few sources

Academic Search Complete

Subject-specific

Include scholarly and specialized articles from a specific discipline
To choose a database, think about what department on campus would have scholars researching your topic, then use the "All Subjects" dropdown menu on the databases page to find that department, or find the guide for that subject (ex. PsycINFO for Psychology topics)

Databases List (use the "All Subjects" dropdown menu)

Guides List (choose a subject)

If you are looking for a specific type of information, other than scholarly articles (ex. historical newspapers, audiovisual, etc.) you can also look at databases by type of information they contain by using the "all database types" dropdown menu.

Databases for Finding Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
1990 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Annual Reviews Online This link opens in a new window
1997 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated annually. Provides full text access to all volumes published by Annual Reviews. Covers topics in biomedical, physical and social sciences.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
1785 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated bi-monthly. Covers the geology of North America from 1785 to the present, and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Contains references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities are also covered.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides access to the full text of journals published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries and other publishers whose online journals are hosted by ScienceDirect. Email alerts are available if you register.
Ebooks: Selected titles from Elsevier and its subsidiaries are included. These ebooks are DRM-free with unlimited users and PDF chapter downloads/printing.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
1900 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. The Web of Science Core Collection is a group of databases (Science Citation Index Expanded, 1900-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1900-present; Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) that together cover more than 21,000 journals across all disciplines. The Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present) tracks thousands of additional journals that are being considered for inclusion in the main citation indexes. Other files track references from conference proceedings (1990-present) and citations to books (2005-present).
The Web of Science platform currently also provides temporary access to several databases that are not part of the Core Collection, including Biosis Citation Index, Data Citation Index, and Zoological Record.

AAPG (American Association of Petroleum Geologists) Datapages This link opens in a new window
1917 - present. Unlimited users.
Contains a variety of source materials and book series published by global and regional oil and gas professional societies. AAPG makes available its own bulletins, meeting abstracts, and special publications for download as full-text PDFs. Subjects include petroleum geology and related fields, such as structural geology, organic petrology, and sedimentary research. Some international coverage.
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
BioOne Complete aggregates 180 high quality, subscribed and open-access titles focused in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. More than three-quarters of the subscribed titles are ranked in Thomson Reuters' Journal Citation Reports, and 43% are available online exclusively in BioOne Complete. For User Guides and Tutorials see http://www.bioone.org/page/resources/researchers/tutorials.
Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
1861 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Contains more than 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Provides full text for many dissertations and theses, including most done after 1997. All subject areas are covered. The database includes more than 90 percent of the doctoral dissertations accepted each year in North America with selective coverage for other parts of the world. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Only bibliographic citations are available for earlier years. More than 55,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Many dissertations from The University of Texas at Austin are included in the database, though theses from the University are only rarely included.

ProQuest recommends using Firefox, IE or Safari for your browser for this resource.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Coverage varies. Unlimited.
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 3,452,088 theses and dissertations.
GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. Provides full text access to over 30 core journals from a variety of geoscience publishers.
GeoScienceWorld eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
GeoScienceWorld eBook Collections launched in 2014, and is the first nonprofit, multi-publisher eBooks platform dedicated to the study of the earth sciences, complementing the journal holdings in the GeoScience World journals platform. It includes more than 1,000 earth science titles from 10 leading society publishers
Special Note on UT Holdings: Since the UT Libraries already license materials from the American Association of Petroleum Geologists and The Geological Society of London, and some Geological Society of America items, our license is restricted to approximately 700 titles of the original 1000 in this database. For materials that will not open here, try the original publisher’s database entry.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
OnePetro This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. A multi-society library that provides a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry.
Currently indexes more than 80,000 documents, with more being added frequently.
The following organizations are among those with their conference papers and technical documents indexed through OnePetro:
- American Rock Mechanics Association (ARMA)
- American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE)
- Offshore Technology Conference (OTC)
- NACE International (corrosion engineers)
- Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) **includes full-text
- Society of Petrophysicists and Well Log Analysts (SPWLA)
- The Society of Underwater Technology (SUT)
- World Petroleum Council (WPC)
PubMed This link opens in a new window
1950 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. Provides access to over 36 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases. Links to the full text articles are provided when available, subject to UT subscription status. Authenticating with UT EID will ensure the Findit@UT button is available in search results.

EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
The eBook Collection provides access to full-text scholarly, reference and professional eBooks from leading university, academic and professional publishers.
The eBook Collection can be accessed using a standard Internet browser; however, some access problems have been reported by patrons using Firefox. If you are having trouble seeing books and are using the most current version of Firefox, try using Chrome or Internet Explorer. EBSCO provides ebooks in Adobe PDF format, so in order to view eBooks online, you will need the correct version of Adobe Reader installed on your computer.
Mac users may want to download the Schubert|it PDF Browser Plugin, a third-party plugin that supports in-browser viewing of PDF files. You may also need an EBSCO account which is free.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Google Book Search This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Searches complete text of books from selected library collections and publishers. Search works just like a regular Google search -- when book content contains a match for selected search terms, Google provides links to it in the search results. Depending on a few factors, Google displays everything from a few short excerpts to the entire book.
Each book includes an "About this book" page with basic bibliographic data like title, author, publication date, length and subject. For some books, additional information like key terms and phrases, references to the book from scholarly publications or other books, chapter titles and a list of related books.
Springer LINK This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Provides full text access to journals and selected ebooks published by Springer-Verlag.
Printed versions of University of Texas at Austin-owned ebooks can be purchased for $24.95 by persons with a .utexas email address. The Springer website for an ebook eligible for this purchase will display a message “BUY A PRINT COPY (USD 24.95)” or ""MyCopy Softcover Edition 24.95.""
See the FAQ for more information.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Provides full text access to journals published by John Wiley & Sons. Email alerts are available if you register.
Ebooks: Selected titles are available. May be read online, printed, and saved as PDFs. Unlimited users may access each book.
As of 2013, all AGU (American Geophysical Union) Journals are now hosted on Wiley Online Library. To search AGU Journals, please see the American Geophysical Union Earth and Space Index (EASI) Search.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide

What are databases?

This video, from RMIT University, explains what is a database.