Skip to Main Content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

Music

Special Collections in Music at UT

Special Collections

Research and instruction materials in music are located in several libraries and archives at the University of Texas at Austin. This guide outlines the resources of the Harry Ransom Center, the Dolph Briscoe Center for American History, the University of Texas Libraries, and the Butler School of Music.

  • Carlton Lake Collection - 19th/20th-century French materials
  • Edwin Bachmann Collection - 18th/19th-century printed and manuscript music
  • Alfred Cortot Collection - 16th/19th-century sacred vocal music
  • H. P. Kraus Libretti Collection - 17th to 20th centuries
  • Nicolas Nabokov Papers - from the years 1955-1977
  • Ross Russell Collection
  • Theatre Arts Collection
  • Pre-1600 manuscripts 
  • 1600-1900 manuscripts
  • 20th-century manuscript collections
  • Printed book and score collections
  • Correspondence 

Research and instruction materials in music are located in several libraries and archives at the University of Texas at Austin. This guide outlines the resources of the Harry Ransom Center, the Dolph Briscoe Center for American History, the University of Texas Libraries, and the Butler School of Music.

 

The Briscoe Center for American History is the world's most important resource center for the study of Texas. Its added strengths in Southern, Western, and Southwestern history make the Center one of the pre-eminent historical research repositories in the nation. The Center's Texas Collection Library contains more than 170,000 volumes of published material, while the Archives and Manuscripts Unit houses some 70,000 linear feet of documents, including four million photographs and more than 50,000 recordings of music and the spoken word. The latter include not only commercial recordings but also field recordings, interviews, and oral history. Other music resources include videocassettes, manuscript and printed music, photographs, poster art, newspaper clippings, and business and personal papers. Recent acquisitions include the papers of composers Otto Wick and Lawrence Weiner, and the record collection of music critic Ed Ward, and the archives of the Professional Touring Entertainment Industry.

Because the Center has emphasized music in its collection building, it now contains more than forty significant collections relating to the folk and popular music of Texas and surrounding regions. They include: 19th century sheet music in the Natchez Trace Collection; folk materials and field recordings of various ethnic cultures in the University of Texas Folklore Center Archives; the folk and country music collection of Townsend Miller; the archives of the Light Crust Doughboys western swing band; the Curtis Kirk/Custom Records (Tyler, Texas) archives; business and talent files for such Austin venues as the Armadillo World HEadquarters and Soap Creek Saloon; material on Navasota songster and guitarist Mance Lipscomb; commerical recordings from the 1920s to the present in the Texas Music Collection; the Tom Wright Photograph Collection (featuring The Who and other rock performers); and the archives of Kerrville Festival founder Rod Kennedy.

Contact John Wheat, Sound Archivist, Dolph Briscoe Center for American History.

Research and instruction materials in music are located in several libraries and archives at the University of Texas at Austin. This guide outlines the resources of the Harry Ransom Center, the Dolph Briscoe Center for American History, the University of Texas Libraries, and the Butler School of Music.

The musical holdings in the Fine Arts Library's special collections inculde 19th and early 20th century piano vocal, piano pedagogy, and choral sheet music.

Research and instruction materials in music are located in several libraries and archives at the University of Texas at Austin. This guide outlines the resources of the Harry Ransom Center, the Dolph Briscoe Center for American History, the University of Texas Libraries, and the Butler School of Music.

The Performance Library

The Performance Library serves the needs of the opera, orchestra, band, choral chamber, and jazz divisions for multiple copies and sets of scores. It contains music for over 18,000 works. The library also houses archival copies of tapes of ensemble and faculty performances. 

Contact Rebecca Kinz, Performance Librarian, Butler School of Music.

 

The Ethnomusicology Archives

The Ethnomusicology Archives contain about 1,000 field recordings of music from all ice-free continents. Latin American and South Asian musics are particularly strongly represented. Housed in Music Building East, the Archives include a transcription laboratory. 

Contact Stephen Slawek, Head, Division of Musicology/Ethnomusicology, Butler School of Music.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.