Over 1200 arias with selections from more than 60 composers. Includes a database of the characters with a short description, the arias they sing, and the creator of the role (if known). Searchable by name, opera, language, composer, voice type, range, keyword, and whether there is a sound file, translation, or text available. There are also annotated links and a list of opera houses and companies.
Brought to us via Naxos's education page (part of their commercial site), this site includes synopses of plot, character break-downs, as well as some history. This site contains info on many operas that are difficult to find elsewhere!
Opera America serves and strengthens the field of opera by providing a variety of informational, technical, and administrative resources to the greater opera community. Its fundamental mission is to promote opera as exciting and accessible to individuals from all walks of life.
Online library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.
Developed to benefit singers, teachers, and all those interested in the correct and knowledgeable performance of vocal literature, IPA Source is the largest collection of literal translations and International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions on the web. The goal of IPA Source is to promote the comprehension and accurate pronunciation of foreign language texts in art song and opera in order that the singer may imbue each syllable with the appropriate emotional content.
The American Choral Directors Association (ACDA) is a nonprofit music-education organization whose central purpose is to promote excellence in choral music through performance, composition, publication, research, and teaching. The official publication of the American Choral Directors Association is Choral Journal that contains articles and reviews of newly released CD recordings, books, and printed music.
American Choral Music, a collaboration of the the Library of Congress and the American Choral Directors Association, provides access to significant choral music in the public domain by the leading American composers of the time.