LibGuides: Open Access at UT Austin: Current UT Supported OA Initiatives

Open Access Initiative Support

UT Austin supports a variety of open access memberships, initiatives, and infrastructure with the goal of creating a more sustainable publishing ecosystem. That support sometimes provides direct benefits to our authors like:

Discounts on article processing charges (APCs)
Fully paid APCs
Free OA publishing through a different mechanism

Below is an alphabetical list of the memberships, initiatives, and infrastructure that we currently financially support. To see a list of the options with direct author benefits, see the OA Support for UT Authors tab.

ACM Open
The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) publishes journals, conference proceedings, and magazines. UT is participating in their program to transform their publishing to all open access. UT Austin corresponding authors can publish OA without paying an APC.
Algebraic Combinatorics
A peer-reviewed, open access journal publishing high quality papers in which algebra and combinatorics interact in interesting ways.
American Indian Culture and Research Journal
American Indian Culture and Research Journal (AICRJ) is among the premier peer-reviewed journals in Native American studies. It is published by the UCLA American Indian Studies Center (AISC) and will be published diamond open access through a new partnership with eScholarship Publishing.
Annual Reviews
Non-profit publisher with 85 journals in a variety of disciplines. Journals are being published under a Subscribe to Open (S2O) model.
Ars Inveniendi Analytica
A peer-reviewed, open access journal publishing articles on mathematical analysis, and holding to the highest scientific standards. UT is a financial sponsor of the journal.
arXiv
arXiv is a pre-print repository for research papers in physics, computer science, computational biology, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computational linguistics, neuroscience, and other disciplines.
Berghahn Open Anthro
Berghahn Open Anthro is collection of anthropology journals being published under a Subscribe to Open (S2O) model.

BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
BioOne Complete aggregates high quality subscribed and open access titles focused on biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
BioOne Complete aggregates 180 high quality, subscribed and open-access titles focused in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. More than three-quarters of the subscribed titles are ranked in Thomson Reuters' Journal Citation Reports, and 43% are available online exclusively in BioOne Complete.

Bloomsbury Open Collections
Bloomsbury is creating a collective funding model for OA books, similar to the Subscribe to Open business model for journals. UT Libraries is signing up to support the African Studies + International Development collection which aims to make 20 frontlist titles available immediately upon publication.
Cambridge University Press
UT Austin has a contract with Cambridge University Press (CUP) that gives the UT community access to all CUP journals and all UT authors can publish open access with CUP without paying an APC. See the OA Support for UT Authors tab for more information.
CEU Press - Opening the Future
Opening the Future is a collective subscription model that is meant to achieve the dual objectives of increasing collections and supporting Open Access. UT Libraries pays a small annual membership fee to get DRM-free, unlimited access to a selection of the well-regarded CEU Press backlist, with perpetual access after three years; the membership revenue is used to produce new OA monographs.
Cogitatio Press
UT Austin corresponding authors publishing in any Cogitatio journal will be eligible to publish their article without paying an APC.
Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales CLACSO
Open monographs publishing for Latin American books.
Cultural Anthropology
Cultural Anthropology is a peer reviewed, open access journal publishing ethnographic writing informed by a wide array of theoretical perspectives, innovative in form and content, and focused on both traditional and emerging topics.
DataCite
Service that provides digital object identifiers (DOIs) for items in Texas ScholarWorks, Texas Data Repository, and on request. See the Persistent ID LibGuide for more information.
Demography
Demography is a peer-reviewed, OA journal presenting the highest-quality original research of scholars in a broad range of disciplines that includes anthropology, biology, economics, geography, history, psychology, public health, sociology, and statistics.
Directory of Open Access Books
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed OA books. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Independent index of over 17,000 open access journals covering all disciplines.
more...less...
Updated regularly. Covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Aims to cover all subjects and languages.
EDP Sciences - Mathematics
EDP Sciences is publishing six math journals under the Subscribe to Open (S2O) format.
Elsevier
Elsevier publishes books and journals across the disciplines. UT has signed a deal with Elsevier that provides us with reading access to Elsevier journals and provides UT corresponding authors with a discount on article processing charges (APCs) of 10-15% in eligible gold and hybrid journal titles, excluding Cell Press, The Lancet, and certain society titles.
engrXiv
A pre-print repository for engineering research.
Environmental Humanities
Environmental Humanities is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal. The journal publishes outstanding interdisciplinary scholarship that draws humanities disciplines into conversation with each other, and with the natural and social sciences, around significant environmental issues.
Free Journal Network (FJN)
The FJN provides support to scholarly journals run according to the Fair Open Access model (journals with no financial barriers to readers or authors - sometimes called diamond OA).
Global Press Archive
Full text access to a variety of global news publications. The five OA collections published so far are: Imperial Russian Newspapers, Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers, Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers, Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers, and South Asian Newspapers.

HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a large digital library bringing together materials from sources including Google Books, the Internet Archive, libraries, and other commercial digitization projects.
HathiTrust is a large digital library bringing together materials from sources including Google Books, the Internet Archive, libraries at HathiTrust partner institutions, and other commercial digitization projects. Search more than 11 million volumes with more than a third of these available for full text access and download (primarily books and journals published before 1923 and U.S. Government publications).
University of Texas students, faculty, and staff can download materials in the public domain in addition to conducting full text searches of all materials in the HathiTrust Catalog. UT Official Retirees and UT Extension Students are excluded from this access because of HathiTrust's strict definitions and added layer of authentication
Click the "Log In" button and choose "University of Texas at Austin" from the drop-down menu. Select "continue" and then enter your EID and password when prompted.
The HathiTrust is a partnership of more than 80 major academic and research libraries.

History of Media Studies
History of Media Studies is a peer-reviewed, open access journal dedicated to scholarship on the history of research, education, and reflective knowledge about media and communication.
IOP
UT Austin has a Read and Publish deal with the Institute of Physics (IOP) that gives the UT community access to all IOP published journals and all UT corresponding authors can publish open access without paying an APC.
IWA Publishing
IWA publishes on water, wastewater, and related environmental fields. UT Libraries is contributing to OA publishing of their journals and frontlist books.
Journal of Librarianship & Scholarly Communication
JLSC is a peer-reviewed, open access journal publishing articles at the intersection of librarianship and scholarly publishing.
Knowledge Unlatched
Knowledge Unlatched (KU) makes content from multiple publishers freely available to all users through pledges from libraries. UT Libraries has pledged to several different KU collections.
Lever Press
Lever Press is an OA, digital-first, scholarly publisher. They aim to publish the highest quality scholarship in an economically sustainable way.
liquid blackness: journal of aesthetics and black studies
liquid blackness is a peer reviewed, open access journal that seeks to carve out a place for aesthetic theory and the most radical agenda of Black studies to come together in productive ways. The journal showcases a variety of scholarly modes, including audio-visual work and experimental and traditional essays.
Luminos
Peer-reviewed, open access monographs published by the University of California Press. UT Austin authors receive a 15% discount on the book processing charge.
MDPI
MDPI publishes OA journals in a wide range of disciplines. UT authors receive a 10% discount on the APC.
mediastudies.press
mediastudies.press is a scholar-led OA publisher, publishing books and journals in the media, communication, and film studies fields.
MIT Direct to Open
The Direct to Open model will provide open access to all new MIT Press scholarly monographs and edited collections (~90 titles per year) via recurring participation fees. UT Libraries are supporting both the HSS and STEM monograph collections.
OACIP - Open Access Community Investment Program
Lyrasis provides a community oriented framework to supporting diamond OA journals. UT Libraries has used this framework to support several journals.
OAPEN
OAPEN is an online library of OA academic books. OAPEN provides infrastructure services like hosting, quality assurance, dissemination and preservation to publishers, libraries, and research funders.
Open Book Collective
The Open Book Collective provides support to publishers of traditional and experimental open access books. They also make it easier for libraries to discover and financial support OA publishing.
Open Book Publishers
Open Book Publishers is the largest open access publisher of academic monographs in the United Kingdom and one of the largest in the English-speaking world, publishing peer-reviewed works in the humanities and social sciences.
OpenEdition Books
OpenEdition Books is a web platform for books in the humanities and social sciences. More than half of these books are available open access.

Open Library of the Humanities This link opens in a new window
2013 - present. Unlimited users.
The Open Library of the Humanities (OLH) is a gold open access, peer-reviewed, internationally-supported, academic-led, not-for-profit, mega-journal, multi-journal and books platform for the humanities. It is funded by an international library consortium and so has no author-facing charges.
The OLH takes a broad, inclusive understanding of the academic humanities, from classics, religious studies and theology, modern languages and literatures through to political philosophy, musicology, critical legal studies, anthropology and newer subject areas such as critical theory and cultural studies, film, media and TV studies.

Open Science Framework (OSF)
OSF is a tool that promotes open scholarship by enabling sharing for different aspects of the research lifecycle like developing research ideas, designing a study, storing and analyzing data, and publishing reports or papers.
ORCID
Unique identifier that helps identify and disambiguate researchers while also streamlining the reporting process through connections throughout the research lifecycle.
Peer Community In (PCI)
Scholars can deposit a pre-print in any open repository and submit it to PCI for open peer review. Those reviews can result in a recommendation and you can submit to the PCI journal or PCI friendly journals with no further peer review.
PeerJ
UT participates in the Annual Institutional Membership with PeerJ which allows all UT Austin corresponding authors to publish in PeerJ journals without needing to pay an APC.

PhilPapers This link opens in a new window
PhilPapers is a wide-ranging index of literature in philosophy and includes journals, books, personal webpages, and open access archives.
PhilPapers is a wide-ranging index of literature in philosophy, compiled from trawling techniques and crowd-sourcing to monitor research content in philosophy, including journals, books, personal pages, and open access archives (in PhilArchives). The index currently includes over 2 million research books and articles. See details here.
Note “Terms & Conditions”, particularly section 4.
Compare to Philosopher’s Index.

If you want to be able to check availability at UT Libraries when off campus, please set up an account and set your affiliation to University of Texas Austin.

PLOS Journals
UT Austin corresponding authors publishing in any PLOS journal will be eligible to publish their article without paying an APC.
Punctum Books
Punctum Books is an OA publisher dedicated to radically creative modes of intellectual inquiry and writing across a whimsical para-humanities assemblage.
more...less...
Punctum Books is an open-access publisher dedicated to radically creative modes of intellectual inquiry and writing across a whimsical para-humanities assemblage (in which assemblage you will find humanists keeping rowdy and thought-provoking company with social scientists, scientists, multi/media specialists, artists, architects, and designers).
Qualitative Data Repository
Social sciences data repository that offers curation services. UT Austin's membership covers the costs for most curation services.
Reveal Digital
Reveal Digital develops Open Access primary source collections from under-represented 20th-century voices of dissent, crowdfunded by libraries. The content is curated and sourced from a wide array of libraries, museums, historical societies and individual collectors. The results are diverse thematic collections of scholarly value available to everyone everywhere
Royal Society of Chemistry
UT Austin has a Read and Publish agreement with RSC that allows UT Austin corresponding authors to publish OA articles in RSC hybrid or gold journals without paying an APC.
Sage Publishing
UT Austin has a contract with Sage Publishing that gives us access to Sage journals and all UT corresponding authors can publish OA without paying an APC in over 1000 Sage subscription and gold OA journals.
SciPost
Diamond OA publisher with several STEM and social science journals.
SCOAP3
SCOAP3 is a one-of-its-kind partnership of over three thousand libraries, key funding agencies and research centers. Working with leading publishers, SCOAP3 has converted key journals in the field of High-Energy Physics to OA at no cost for authors. SCOAP3 centrally pays publishers for costs involved in providing OA.
Sidestone
Open access book publisher specializing in archaeology and anthropology. All books are free to read on their website, and our membership allows UT Austin readers to download PDF copies of their books.
South Asia Open Archives (SAOA)
SAOA is a free open-access resource for research and teaching - a rich and growing curated collection of key historical and contemporary sources in arts, humanities and social sciences, from and about South Asia.
SPARC
SPARC is a non-profit advocacy organization that supports systems for research and education that are open by default and equitable by design. They focus on driving policy change to advance their vision of knowledge as a public good.
Texas Digital Library
A collaborative consortium based in Texas and rooted in higher education, the Texas Digital Library (TDL) builds capacity among its membership for ensuring equitable access to and preservation of digital content of value to research, instruction, cultural heritage, and institutional memory. UT Austin is a founding member of TDL.

Technical Report Archive and Image Library (TRAIL) This link opens in a new window
TRAIL provides access to digitized copies of U.S. government agency technical reports.
TRAIL provides access to digitized copies of federal technical reports issued prior to 1975. Includes reports from agencies such as the Atomic Energy Commission, the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics, the National Bureau of Standards, and the U.S. Bureau of Mines. A complete list of the included series is available at http://www.crl.edu/grn/trail/current-activities/series-list.

University of Michigan Press - Fund to Mission
Open monograph publishing model from the University of Michigan. Their goal is to convert at least 75% of U-M Press monographs to open access by the end of 2023, without any author ever having to pay.

Feedback about OA Initiatives

Feedback form
If you've published with one of our OA initiatives, please take a moment to tell us about your experience.

Subscribe to Open

Subscribe to Open (S2O): An open access model that converts traditional subscription journals to open access one year at a time using existing library relationships and payments. Institutions subscribe in the traditional manner and when sufficient revenue is collected, the journal is published OA. If the revenue goals are not met, then that year's content stays subscription only.

If we already have a subscription in place for a specific journal or publisher and that journal or publisher switches to S2O publishing, we will participate. In instances where a publisher is switching their entire portfolio to S2O, we'll try to list them on our Current UT Supported OA Initiatives list. Please note that many publishers are rolling out S2O options and sometimes they are at the individual journal level. It's not feasible for us to list every single S2O journal that we support, so if you have a question about a specific journal, please ask Colleen Lyon, Head of Scholarly Communications, c.lyon@austin.utexas.edu.