Paleontology

Search the full-text index of the American Museum of Natural History's Division of Paleontology catalog, which includes a wide range of locality, specimen, expedition, taxonomic and collection event data.

Contains various field guides and teaching resources.

Relational database containing data and metadata of fossil and modern pollen records from natural archives (e.g. lacustrine sediments, peat bogs, marine sediments) collected on or near the Eurasian continent.

Electronic database for the late Quaternary distribution of mammal species in the U.S. (Illinois State Museum)

The Fossil Calibration Database is a curated collection of well-justified calibrations, including many published in the journal Palaeontologia Electronica.

Interactive and PDF charts of stratigraphic eras, periods, epochs and ages for handy reference. (Int. Comm. on Stratigraphy)

IPOL is a collection of metadata of Irish Quaternary pollen sites. The database currently contains information on 507 sediment-based records. It is organized into a table with particulars on the location, chronology and a publication reference for each site. Site locations can also be viewed in Google Earth.

Themed bibliographies of books on the subject.

Online hub for data, research, education, and discussion about paleoenvironments.

Recommended procedures for classifying and naming stratigraphic and related units prepared under the auspices of the North American Commission on Stratigraphic Nomenclature.

Public database of paleontological data, maintained by an international non-governmental group of paleontologists. You can explore the data online in the Navigator, which lets you filter fossil occurrences by time, space, and taxonomy, and displays their modern and paleogeographic locations; or you can download the data to your own computer to do your own analyses.

Paleoclimatology data are derived from natural sources such as tree rings, ice cores, corals, stalagmites, and ocean and lake sediments. These proxy climate data extend the weather and climate information archive by hundreds to millions of years. The data include geophysical or biological measurement time series and some reconstructed climate variables such as temperature and precipitation. (NOAA-NCEI)

The World Database of all species of Foraminifera ever described (recent and fossil), is part of the World Register of Marine Species (WoRMS), a global initiative to provide a register of all marine organisms.

World Ostracoda Database is part of the World Register of Marine Species (WoRMS), a global initiative to provide a register of all names of marine organisms living today (or extinct since a geologically short time). As of 2023 there are 11,726 accepted species in the database, among 16,589 species and 22,962 taxa names.

American Museum of Natural History.

Fact and fiction from the Berkshire Museum.

Repository of articles aimed at non-specialists and students.

Rather dated site aimed at K-12 and nonspecialists.