During their orientation period residents are introduced to many of the departments and staff of the UT Libraries. During that time they also consider their career goals, areas in which they would like to build skills, and/or new areas of expertise that they're curious about. In consultation with the Residency Coordinator, they develop a plan for their professional development and rotations. The Residency Coordinator works with staff in those areas to identify project work that is in line with the resident's learning objectives and is also of strategic importance for those units. These are some examples of rotation schedules from previous resident cohorts.
Resident interests: public services, assessment/UX, digital scholarship
Year 1 Rotations
- Assessment and Communication Team
- Project: Developing an Assessment Plan for an OER Fellows Program
- Teaching and Learning Services, Information Literacy Services
- Pedagogy and information literacy instruction
- LLILAS Benson Digital Scholarship Team
- Digital scholarship tools and methods
- Working with faculty to embed digital scholarship in courses
Year 2 Rotation
- LLILAS Benson Digital Scholarship Team
- Digital scholarship librarianship
- Digital scholarship tools and methods
- Working with faculty to embed digital scholarship in courses
- Side project: Developing a communication plan for a digital scholarship center
Resident interests: digital archives
Year 1 Rotations
- Alexander Architecture Archives
- Project: Identifying personally identifiable information in born digital materials
- LLILAS Benson Special Collections, Black Diaspora Archive
- Processing born-digital collections
- LLILAS Benson Digital Initiatives
- Developing guidelines for born-digital processing
Year 2&3 Rotation
LLILAS Benson Digital Initiatives
- Increased responsibility and depth in digital archives
- Year 2 title: Resident Digital Archivist
Resident interests: special collections and archives, social science liaison librarianship
Year 1 Rotations
- LLILAS Benson Special Collections
- Archival Processing
- Student Activism/Outreach
- Alexander Architectural Archives
- Research Support and Digital Initiatives
- Business and Economics Liaison Librarianship
Year 2 Rotation
- Research Support and Digital Initiatives
- Business and Economics Liaison Librarianship
- Year 2 title: Resident Librarian for Economics
