Theatre

Documents the Asian American experience as dramatized in works by writers from the 18th century to the present. Brings together biographies, a performance database, production details, and associated visual resources, including photos, playbills, and manuscript images. Brings together more than 250 plays, beginning with the works of Sadakichi Hartmann in the late nineteenth century and progresses to the writings of contemporary playwrights, such as Philip Kan Gotanda, Elizabeth Wong, and Jeannie Barroga. Along with many works by writers of Japanese, Filipino, Vietnamese, and Chinese descent, includes plays by writers of Hawaiian, Indian, Thai, Korean, Persian, and Malaysian ancestry.

Updated regularly. Contains approximately 1200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. The content represents North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print.

The database covers key writings of the Harlem Renaissance, works performed for the Federal Theatre Project, and plays by critically acclaimed dramatists of the 1940s. The collection includes musical comedies, domestic dramas, folk dramas, history plays, anti-slavery plays, one-act plays, and other works. Many were published in a wide range of magazines and anthologies, others have never before been published or performed.

A foundational collection of over 14,000 dramatic texts, the Drama Texts collection spans nearly a millennium of dramatic writing covering the historical canon of Western theatre from its earliest days right up to the key figures of the early 21st century. The Drama Texts collection includes the complete drama texts of ten Alexander Street and Chadwyck-Healey collections.

The Drama Online platform features playtexts and streaming video content. Access includes over 50 performances from the National Theatre; the Donmar Shakespeare Trilogy; and a collection of resources exploring Asian theatre. Note: The UT Libraries have access to selected collections only. Access to other content requires a separate subscription

Updated regularly. Brings together more than 100,000 pages of poetry, fiction, and drama written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latin authors working in the United States. Includes nearly 800 items (poems, novels, and plays) that have never been published before. Users will also find numerous Chicano folk tales and audio files of selected poems and plays. Currently has over 106,000 pages of poetry, fiction, and drama.

Updated regularly. Literature Online is a fully searchable library of over 350,000 full-text works of English and American literature. Includes several literary databases of poetry, plays and fiction as well as general reference works and links to other Internet sites. Coverage of literary criticism includes access to the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, 1920-present (from the Modern Humanities Research Association) and 383 Full-Text Journals (from Literature Online/ProQuest).

Updated ten times per year. Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to citations from over 4,400 journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Produced by the Modern Language Association.

Updated quarterly (until completed). A comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre. Includes some 40,000 pages of major reference materials, together with records to more than 30,000 plays (many never published previously), over 57,000 people, 5,400 theatres, nearly 22,000 productions and 2,500 production companies. It also includes over 40,000 pages of reference sources in electronic format, including Annals of the New York Stage, and the American Theatre Companies series. Thousands of posters, playbills, and photographs are also included, as well as links to plays and related Web sites.

Updated regularly. Provides the full text of 2,000 plays written from the late 1800's to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America. Many of the works are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print. Nearly a quarter of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays.

Each play is extensively and deeply indexed, allowing both keyword and multi-fielded searching. The plays are accompanied by reference materials, significant ancillary information, a rich performance database, and images.

Includes a focus on gay and lesbian theatre, along with plays drawn from the Jewish theatre, American Indian theatre, and other groups. Also provides selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.

Shakespeare in Performance showcases over 1,000 rare and unique prompt books of 34 of Shakespeare’s plays from the world-famous Folger Shakespeare Library. These prompt books tell the story of Shakespeare’s plays as they were performed in theatres throughout Great Britain, the United States and internationally, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries.

Search across Adam Matthew primary source databases using AM Explorer

Covers some 31,000 plays published individually or in anthologies and collections. These are plays written in or translated into English.

Plays can be found by title; author; subject (i.e., divorce, Chinese Americans, brothers); style (i.e., symbolism, experimental theater); genre (i.e., comedy, melodrama, musical); cast type; and more. Includes mysteries, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, pageants, and classic drama. Over 600 monologues suitable for auditions or course assignments are also indexed and searchable.

For plays published individually, the publisher, date, pagination, ISBN, and LC number are given. For plays published in collections or anthologies, links to full bibliographic information is provided. Each play record provides a description summarizing the plot and indicates any musical requirements: chorus, singing, dancing etc., along with the number of sets, noting whether scenery requirements are interior or exterior.