Didaskalia is an electronic resource and journal dedicated to the study of ancient Greek and Roman drama in performance. The site includes the following study areas: Introduction to Ancient Theatre; Theatre of Dionysos Reconstructions; Classics and Theatre Resources Online; Ancient Theatre on the Modern Stage; Dictionary of Ancient Theatre; The Agora. The Agora is an informal discussion area for students, teachers, researchers, and practitioners.
A free online guide to modern playwrights and theatre plays which have been written, adapted or translated, into English since the production of Look Back in Anger in 1956. doollee.com contains information on 55,018 Playwrights and 185,532 of their Plays.
IBDb is the official database for Broadway theatre information. It provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today. Details include pertinent people involved as well as interesting facts and production statistics.
One of the most extensive sources for all things drama on the Web, this site contains news from the United States and abroad, ticket information for New York and London, weekly broadway grosses, job listings, and a reference area that includes awards information.
TheTheatreTimes.com is a global portal for theatre news. With a collaborative team of over 140 Regional Managing Editors around the world, TheTheatreTimes.com is the largest and the most diverse global theatre portal, covering theatre in over 75 countries. Since launching in November 2016, TheTheatreTimes.com developed 20 thematic sections and published over 1,650 articles.
In addition to original content, TheTheatreTimes.com filters through more than eighty sources, around six hundred articles and thousands of pages of theatre news every day, in collaboration with over 50 of our partners. Curating a steady stream of the top theatre information, TheTheatreTimes.com is a leading destination for theatre audiences and professionals worldwide.
The Ransom Center's performing arts collections document a wide variety of performance genres, particularly from the United Kingdom and America. The collections feature holdings in theatre, dance, music, opera, and popular entertainments, such as the circus, vaudeville, pantomime, minstrel shows, puppetry, and magic. From drafts and promptbooks to designs and box office receipts, the materials in the collection emphasize the creative process from concept and staging to publication and revival.
The Center holds one of the largest collections of American, British, and Irish playwright archives including the papers of David Hare, Lillian Hellman, Adrienne Kennedy, Terrence McNally, Arthur Miller, John Osborne, J. B. Priestley, Elmer Rice, Tom Stoppard, and Tennessee Williams, along with significant collections of writers like Samuel Beckett, George Bernard Shaw, Sam Shepard, and Oscar Wilde. Visitors to the Reading and Viewing Room can access over 1,100 audio and video recordings of Stella Adler's master classes on acting and script interpretation, John Wilkes Booth's promptbook for Richard III, Harry Houdini's love letters to his wife Bess, and epic scene designs by artists like Boris Aronson, Norman Bel Geddes, Gordon Conway, and Eldon Elder.
The Billy Rose Theatre Division of The New York Public Library is one of the largest and most comprehensive archives devoted to the theatrical arts. Encompassing dramatic performance in all its diversity, the division is an indispensable resource for artists, writers, researchers, scholars, students, and the general public.
An evolving comprehensive record of all of the theatrical productions written or created by Black artists that have been presented in a Broadway theater venue starting in the late 19th century and continuing through the present.
A collaborative, multilingual online archive of performance materials. Supported by several government and academic bodies, with contributions from theatre companies in East and Southeast Asia, its aim is to provide resources for education and research in intercultural and Shakespeare performance.
An online catalog for the first professional production of every African, Caribbean and Black British play produced in Britain. Researchers can use the database to also read essays, watch or listen to interviews with theater artists and hear extracts from selected plays recorded especially for the Black Plays Archive.
A new web-based resource from the Digital Yiddish Theatre Project (DYTP), a research consortium dedicated to the application of digital humanities tools and methods to the study of Yiddish theatre and drama.
The Moscow State Yiddish Theater (MSYT) collection is an important and rich resource on the history of the GOSET (Gosudarstvennyi evreiskii teatr, Russian acronym of the Moscow State Yiddish Theater) and Soviet Yiddish culture in general. The collection comprises 581 items, including 147 photographs, 2 drawings, and 432 documents and books in Russian, Yiddish, Ukrainian, Hebrew, German, and French.
Developed in a collaboration between Minnesota-based cultural heritage organizations and the Penunbra Theatre Company, Umbra Search is a search tool which contains hundreds of thousands of digitized materials about African-American history and culture that comes from libraries, archives, and special collections nationally. Find digitized archival material including photographs, correspondences, audiovisual items and other resources in Umbra Search.