LibGuides: Chemical Engineering: Technical Resources

Finding Information

SciFinder: Getting Started with SciFinder
Includes Chemical Abstracts (1907- ), Registry, CASREACT, and CHEMCATS, a chemical suppliers database. SciFinder covers the technical literature of chemical and process technologies and related areas, and is a well-developed source for chemical patents. Personal registration is required.

Compendex
Indexes the research literature of engineering, including chemical technology and process industries. Also known as Engineering Index.
Reaxys
An index to the literature of chemistry, with a focus on chemical structure and property data. Note the special ChemDraw feature for drawing structures.
INSPEC
Focuses on the literature of physics and electrical and computer engineering.
ABI/INFORM Global
Indexes the business literature.
Web of Science
Covers more than 10,000 journals across all STEM subject areas, and enables searching by cited reference.
Scopus
Special for its information on cited literature.
PubMed
Indexes the literature of medical research. The Medline interface is easier to use (see the Library Databases).

ChemRxiv
Chemistry preprint archive.
engrXiv
Preprint server for engineering.
All Databases A-Z

We value books for providing an overview of a topic and by giving background information. The library catalog indexes the holdings of the libraries at UT-Austin. Expect to find both print and electronic books, and books at various locations across campus.

Google Book Search
A helpful complement to the library catalog. Use Google Books to search the text of books and more quickly identify which books will be most useful. Sometimes the provided text will be enough. If not, check for the book in the library catalog.

Interlibrary Loan
If a book you need isn't held at UT, ask for a copy through interlibrary loan (ILL). No charge.

Course textbooks are not routinely purchased. Check the library catalog for individual titles. These freely-available titles may be helpful in covering topics of interest.

Open Textbooks for Engineering
This site lists freely available texts and instructional materials in engineering fields.
Open Textbook Library - Engineering
Open access "Engineering & Technology Textbooks."

ASM (American Society for Metals) Alloy Center

Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Includes ASM property data, performance charts, and processing guidelines for specific metals and alloys.
Part of ASM Materials Information which includes the ASM Handbooks Online and the ASM Phase Diagrams.
ASM (American Society for Metals) Phase Diagrams

Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Includes more than 11,000 binary and ternary phase diagrams and associated phase data for more than 2400 systems.
Part of ASM Materials Information which includes the ASM Alloy Center Online and the ASM Handbooks Online.

CINDAS Thermophysical Properties
Critically evaluated physical and transport property data for inorganic and metallic materials.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
The standard handbook of chemistry, with hundreds of tables of reliable chemical and physical data.

DIPPR Thermodynamic Data
Critical thermodynamic and temperature-dependent property data for 1800+ pure compounds. (AIChE)

NIST Chemistry WebBook

Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides users with easy access to reliable chemical and physical property data (thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics) for chemical species. The data provided in the site are from collections maintained by the NIST Standard Reference Data Program and outside contributors. Data in the WebBook system are organized by chemical species.

NIST-TRC Thermo Tables
Critical thermodynamic property data for pure organic compounds and hydrocarbons. On campus access only.

more... less...

https://wtt-pro.nist.gov/wtt-pro/
ThermoDex
A meta-index of printed handbooks containing a wealth of thermodynamic and physical data on chemicals of all types.
Unit Converters

AccessEngineering
Updated regularly. Provides access to hundreds of McGraw Hill handbooks, textbooks and monographs across all engineering fields, a materials properties visualization tool, downloadable spreadsheets, and instructional videos.

Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook
Publication Date: 2019

Compendium of data tables and textual information on virtually every aspect of chemical engineering, including mathematics and physical/chemical data. Part of AccessEngineering.
Albright's Chemical Engineering Handbook
Publication Date: 2008

Guide to methods and calculations in chemical engineering applications. Also available in print.
Chemical and Process Design Handbook
Publication Date: 2002

Part 1 lists important chemical reactions and processes and related equipment. Part 2 presents brief summaries of the reactions and processes used to manufacture individual chemicals, with flow charts. (Part of AccessEngineering.) Also available in print.
Handbook of Chemical Engineering Calculations
Publication Date: 4th ed., 2012

Techniques for solving everyday chemical engineering problems. Part of AccessEngineering.
Handbook of Industrial Chemistry and Biotechnology
Publication Date: 12th ed., 2012

Chapters describing the chemistry and engineering principles underlying the chemical process industry. Known as Kent & Riegel.
Process Engineering Equipment Handbook
Publication Date: 2002

Information on engineering, operation, and troubleshooting of process machinery: pumps, turbines, fans, motors, filters, dryers, etc.
Rules of Thumb for Chemical Engineers
Publication Date: 6th ed., 2018

Handy collection of shortcuts, calculations, graphs, and tables intended for "quick accurate solutions to everyday process engineering problems."

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Excellent information source presents a wealth of information on preparation, manufacturing processes, uses of materials, properties of chemical substances, and chemistry fundamentals.

No access for topics published after 2022.

Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
Publication Date: 7th ed., 2011

Comprehensive coverage of industrial chemistry topics, with a more European focus. Complements Kirk-Othmer.
Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology
Publication Date: 4th ed., 2014

Covers all aspects of polymer sciences (physics, chemistry, biology) and engineering. Articles contain equations, graphic and tabular data, and extensive bibliographical information.
Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing
Publication Date: 2006

Articles on processing technologies and materials are arranged alphabetically, with an index in vol.5.
Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing and Design
Publication Date: 1976-2002 (69 vol.)

Lengthy articles on chemical processes, economics, products, equipment, and applications. Brief index in final volume. Mostly outdated now, but still useful for processes that have not changed much.
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Named Processes in Chemical Technology
Publication Date: 4th ed., 2014

Concise descriptions of processes in chemical technology that are known by special names, such as inventors, companies, acronyms, and other non-intuitive terms. Many entries include literature references to point to further information.

For resources on chemical hazards, health and safety, and regulatory information in industrial and laboratory settings, see:

Chemistry Guide: Safety, Hazards, Environment
Part of the "Chemistry" guide.

For information about finding patents, see:

Chemical Patents (Chemistry Guide)

Using Patent Databases and Finding Patents
by Larayne Dallas Last Updated Oct 22, 2025 860 views this year

For information on finding government and private technical reports, see our other guides:

For information on finding industry standards, see:

Standards, Codes, & Specifications
by Larayne Dallas Last Updated Sep 4, 2025 5028 views this year

Access to the Libraries' licensed resources when off campus requires authentication using a valid UT EID and password. In order to see the authentication step, you have to start with links on the Libraries' guides (like this one), catalog, and other official web pages. The UT VPN does not work for this purpose.