Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

South Asian Studies

South Asia Collection at UTL

About UT's South Asia Collection

The South Asian Studies collection of the University of Texas Libraries compromises material covering the countries of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka, and Afghanistan. The majority of the material in our collections was acquired through the P.L. 480 Program, the predecessor to the South Asia Cooperative Acquisitions Program, both of which administrated by the Library of Congress, but there have also been a significant number of additions through direct purchasing and gifts. We actively collect material in all formats, with a current focus on cinema. Our South Asian Collection also participates in cooperative collection development efforts, the SAMP Open Archives Initiative and the South Asia Cooperative Collection Development Workshops, through which we are developing a niche specialization in Popular and Pulp Fiction.

Our South Asian Languages Collection is the largest in the state and numerically the second largest in the nation. It encompasses all South Asian languages although we actively collect material in Bengali, Hindi, Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam, Sanskrit, and Urdu. Among some of our most distinctive material are the collections in Malayalam, Sanskrit and Urdu, as well as the emerging collection of Pulp Fiction in South Asian vernaculars. On campus, the Harry Ransom Center houses archival and manuscript material of South Asian authors such as Mulk Raj Anand, Anita Desai, E.M. Forester, Zulfikar Ghose, William Jones, Rudyard Kipling, R.K. Narayan, and Rabindranath Tagore, among others.

(OCLC data from 2014)

(OCLC data from 2014)

The South Asian Collection supports and works most closely with the South Asia Institute and the Department of Asian Studies.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.