LibGuides: Educational Leadership & Policy Research: Ed Research: Core Sources

Recommended Resources

Education Source This link opens in a new window
1929 - present (full text varies by title). Unlimited users.
The collection includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC: Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
1966 (selected full text from 1993) - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Provides a digital library of education-related resources. Contains over 1.1 million citations covering research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education.

Also includes more than 107,000 full text non-journal documents indexed by the ERIC database. Approximately one-half of the entries in the ERIC database are to ERIC documents. Microfiche copies of ERIC documents, including those prior to 1996, are in the Collections Deposit Library (CDL) Microforms Collection at MCFICHE 4913.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
1990 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
1990 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. A scholarly business database providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included.

Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals. Contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database.

Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
1969 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Includes subject indexing and abstracts to over 620 journals in economics. Also has books, dissertations, and working papers in economics. Provides comprehensive information on accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics and much more.
Educational Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1966 - present. Unlimited users.
Includes more than 190,000 bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
1965 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. A collection of scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies. Covers current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, and the environment. Offers full text for nearly 250 international law journals. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection.
PsycINFO (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
1887 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Indexes and abstracts over 1,700 sources, including international material selected from periodicals written in over 35 languages. Contains current chapter and book coverage with worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present, and adds over 60,000 references annually through monthly updates. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines.
Has over 1.8 million individual records, some dating back to 1887, and includes abstracts from Psychological Abstracts back to 1927, Psychological Bulletin from 1921-1926, and all APA journals and the American Journal of Psychology back to their first issues. Corresponds in part to the print index Psychological Abstracts.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
1895 - present. Unlimited.
In addition to full-text journals, SocINDEX with Full Text contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. Includes indexing for books, monographs, conference papers and other non-periodical content sources.

Click any journal below to view our collection of Education Journals in BrowZine.

Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Dissertations from universities around the U.S.
Updated monthly. Contains more than 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Provides full text for many dissertations and theses, including most done after 1997. All subject areas are covered. The database includes more than 90 percent of the doctoral dissertations accepted each year in North America with selective coverage for other parts of the world. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Only bibliographic citations are available for earlier years. More than 55,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Many dissertations from The University of Texas at Austin are included in the database, though theses from the University are only rarely included.

ProQuest recommends using Firefox, IE or Safari for your browser for this resource.
Texas ScholarWorks This link opens in a new window
UT Austin dissertations, treatises and theses. Follow the "Communities & Collections" link and choose "UT Electronic Theses and Dissertations."
Updated regularly. Holds digital works and provides related services that constitute an institutional repository for the University of Texas at Austin. Archives and provides persistent and reliable access to the digital works of faculty, staff, and students and aims to provide the greatest possible dissemination and recognition to these works as possible. Digital works include research and scholarship, as well as works that reflect the intellectual and service environment of the campus.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Find dissertations in Google Scholar by adding this phrase to your search terms: "degree of Doctor of Philosophy"
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.
Google Book Search This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of books! Some may limit access due to copyright, so when you find a match, check our Library Catalog to see if we own a copy.
Updated daily. Searches complete text of books from selected library collections and publishers. Search works just like a regular Google search -- when book content contains a match for selected search terms, Google provides links to it in the search results. Depending on a few factors, Google displays everything from a few short excerpts to the entire book.

Each book includes an "About this book" page with basic bibliographic data like title, author, publication date, length and subject. For some books, additional information like key terms and phrases, references to the book from scholarly publications or other books, chapter titles and a list of related books.

UT Libraries Catalog
Check here to see if we have a print or electronic copy of the book you need.

SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
A huge collection of social and behavior science encyclopedias, and great place to find more about theories or concepts that are new to you.
Platform for Sage book and reference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more. Only select book titles purchased by the UT Libraries are fully accessible.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide

Some key encyclopedias for education scholars and students that may not be included in the database linked above...

Education and Sociology by David Levinson, Peter Cookson, Alan Sadovnik (Editors)
Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopaedia of Marxism and Education by Alpesh Maisuria (Volume Editor)
Publication Date: 2022
Encyclopedia of Critical Whiteness Studies in Education by Zachary A. Casey (Volume Editor)
Publication Date: 2020
Encyclopedia of Educational Philosophy and Theory by Michael A. Peters (Editor)
Publication Date: 2017
Encyclopedia of Educational Theory and Philosophy by D. C. Phillips (Editor)
Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of Education Economics and Finance by Dominic J. Brewer and Lawrence O. Picus (Editors)
Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of Law and Higher Education by Charles Russo (Editor)
Publication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of Queer Studies in Education by Kamden K. Strunk (Volume Editor); Stephanie Anne Shelton (Volume Editor)
Publication Date: 2021
Routledge Encyclopaedia of Educational Thinkers by Joy A. Palmer Cooper
Publication Date: 2016
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Higher Education by Miriam E. David and Marilyn J. Amey (Editors)
Publication Date: 2020

SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
A large database of methodological resources. From book-length guidance for specific methods (network analysis, ethnography, etc) to encyclopedia descriptions, this is a great place to start if you need methodological support.
A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Contains content from over 720 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, the entire “Little Green Book,” and ""Little Blue Book” series, two Major Works collating a selection of journal articles, and specially commissioned videos. Researchers can explore methods and concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since Sage Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.
For Tips and Tutorials, please see the Sage Research Methods Tutorials page and the Sage Research Methods LibGuide.

Below are some selected, recent books about education research methods, and you'll find more books about educational research methods in our Library Catalog.

Critical Theory and Qualitative Data Analysis in Education by Rachelle Winkle-Wagner (Editor); Jamila Lee-Johnson and Ashley N. Gaskew (Editors)
Publication Date: 2018
Design and Analysis in Educational Research Using Jamovi: ANOVA Designs by Kamden K. Strunk; Mwarumba Mwavita
Publication Date: 2021
Essentials of Qualitative Inquiry by Maria J. Mayan
Publication Date: 2016
Foundations of Education Research: Understanding Theoretical Components by Joy Egbert and Sherry Sanden
Publication Date: 2019
Interviewing As Qualitative Research: A Guide for Researchers in Education and the Social Sciences. by Irving Seidman
Publication Date: 2019
Narrative Constellations: Exploring Lived Experience in Education by Susanne Garvis
Publication Date: 2015
Planning Your Qualitative Research Thesis and Project: An Introduction to Interpretivist Research in Education and the Social Sciences by Tom O'Donoghue
Publication Date: 2018
Practical Research Methods in Education: An Early Researcher’s Critical Guide by Mike Lambert (Editor)
Publication Date: 2019

Databases

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Current and archival access to news from the Chronicle of Higher Education.
Updated weekly. Provides news and information services of interest to faculty, administrators and students in the field of higher education. The full text of the current issue is available every Monday morning, following the Friday print publication. The current issue and the archive are both fully searchable, and the site also features an archive of more than 12 years of The Chronicle.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America.
Updated monthly. Provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America (some international coverage). Includes more than 400,000 full-text articles from 200 publications.
New York Times Online This link opens in a new window
1851 - present. Unlimited.

Access restricted to current UT Austin students, faculty, and staff only. New users MUST register first for free access! See our Instructions for creating your NYT account.

Access includes more than 150 years of articles, breaking news, multimedia content, Times newsletters, the International, Spanish, and Chinese editions of the Times, and teaching and learning tools. Our subscription also includes access to the NYT Cooking, Games, and The Athletic.

After creating your account, access articles, video, audio, digital images of the newspaper back to 1851, and more through the New York Times.com and the NYT mobile app.

The New York Times, published in New York City since 1851, is the largest metropolitan newspaper in the United States. The New York Times has long been an important source of reporting, information and opinion, covering politics, finance, health, science, culture, the arts, sports, and fashion in the U.S. and abroad, with special emphasis on the New York metropolitan area.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
A large collection of newspapers, newswires and television news transcripts. Dates of coverages vary widely by title.
Updated continually. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
OpinionArchives This link opens in a new window
Full text access to new and political magazines, including: American Spectator, Harper's, The Nation, The New Republic, The New Yorker and The Progressive.
OpinionArchives includes the searchable full text of:
- The American Spectator (1967-current)
- Commonweal (1924-current)
- Harper's (1850-current)
- LaFollettes (1919-1929)
- The Nation (1865-current)
- The New Leader (1924-current)
- The New Republic (1914-current)
- The New Yorker (1925-current)
- The Progressive (1909-current)
- The Weekly Standard (1995-current)

Education News Sites

Education Week
News about K-12 education in the U.S. UT does not have a subscription, so access to some articles will be limited.
Google News: Education Section
Google's aggregation of recent education-related news.
Inside Higher Ed
Higher education news.
Texas Tribune: Education Section
Recent news about education in Texas.

We buy lots of books to support you as a writer. You'll find recent examples below and additional books about academic writing in our Library Catalog.