Cinema Studies by
This fully revised and updated book includes new topical entries that explore areas such as film and the environmental crisis; streaming and new audience consumption; diversity and intersectionality; questions related to race and representation; the Black Lives Matter movement; and New Wave Cinemas of Eastern European countries. Further new entries include accented/exilic cinema, border-cinema, the oppositional gaze, sonic sound and Black westerns. Existing entries have been updated, including discussion of #MeToo, and more contemporary film examples have been added throughout.
Closely Watched Films by
How do films work? How do they tell a story? How do they move us and make us think? Through detailed examinations of passages from classic films, Marilyn Fabe supplies the analytic tools and background in film history and theory to enable us to see more in every film we watch. Ranging from D. W. Griffith's The Birth of a Nation to Spike Lee's Do the Right Thing, and ending with an epilogue on digital media, Closely Watched Films focuses on exemplary works of fourteen film directors whose careers together span the history of the narrative film.
Film Art: An Introduction by
Film is an art form with a language and an aesthetic all its own. Film Art is an introduction to the analysis of cinema. Taking a skills-centered approach supported by examples from many periods and countries, the authors help students develop a core set of analytical skills that will enrich their understanding of any film, in any genre. In-depth examples deepen students' appreciation for how creative choices by filmmakers affect what viewers experience and how they respond.
Film Studies: the Basics by
Core topics covered include: The history, technology and art of cinema Theories of stardom, genre and film-making, The movie industry from Hollywood to Bollywood, Who does what on a film set. Complete with film stills, end-of-chapter summaries and a substantial glossary.
How to Read a Film by
A new edition of a genuine classic in film studies, featuring a new preface and several new sections. 'Against Art' suggests restoring the balance between the virtual world of art and the real world. 'Morphing' discusses the untrustworthy nature of digital images and sounds. 'The Virtual World' describes contemporary culture where everyone is connected to each other's images, and how the ring-tone market rivals the feature film business.
Mise-en-Scène by
Mise-en-scene: Film Style and Interpretation explores and elucidates constructions of this fundamental concept in thinking about film. In uncovering the history of mise-en-scene within film criticism, and through the detailed exploration of scenes from films, John Gibbs makes the case for the importance of a sensitive understanding of film style, and provides an introduction to the skills of close reading.
The New Historical Dictionary of the American Film Industry by
The dictionary is not a who's who of the industry, but rather a what's what: a dictionary of producing and releasing companies, technical innovations, industry terms, studios, genres, color systems, institutions and organizations, etc. More than 800 entries include everything from "Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences" to "Zoom Lens", from "Astoria Studios" to "Zoetrope".
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Film Theory by
This book defines, and analyzes step by step, many of the fundamental concepts in film theory, ranging from familiar concepts such as Apparatus, Gaze, Genre, and Identification, to less well-known and understood, but equally important concepts, such as Alain Badiou s Inaesthetics, Gilles Deleuze s Time-Image, and Jean-Luc Nancy s Evidence."
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film by
This reference provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory and film history. Approximately 200 entries cover topics, including: acting, censorship, editing, lighting and others. Also included are more than 230 career profiles, placing individual achievements in the context of specific topics (for example, Robert Altman is featured in the article on "Sound").
EID login required
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.
