LibGuides: Radio, Television, and Film (RTF): Finding Scripts/Screenplays

Resources

50 Best Screenplays to Read and Download in Every Genre
Downloadable scripts for contemporary films in five main genre categories: Drama, Comedy, Action/Adventure, Thriller and Horror.
The Black List
The Black List is a platform for screenplays that have not been produced. Writers can get feedback on what they've written for a fee.
Daily Script
This site lists scripts for reading purposes, but it also has links to a small collection of downloadable movie scripts.

Film Scripts Online
A collection of feature films containing over 1,100 scripts, many of which have never been published. Volume I covers American classic cinema, and Volume II expands into international and contemporary films.

Hollywood Script Shop
Hollywood Script Shop sells television and movie scripts from 1930's to today. You can buy digital scripts, often at low cost
Movie Scripts and Screenplays
Broad selection of movie scripts from different time periods, including a mix of early drafts and shooting scripts.
Script Savant
The site lists scripts available in PDF. Also has TV scripts.
Scripts on Screen
The site is a movie script aggregator. They list over 8,500 films indexed from 300+ sites. Many links are free, links that are not free are marked with a dollar sign ($).
Simply Scripts
Free internet resource with downloadable scripts, movie scripts, screenplays, and transcripts of movies, television, and radio. Also includes some treatments.
UT Library
Search the UT catalog for published scripts and screenplays. Searching using a combination of film title, screenwriter, and words like script, shooting script, or screenplay.

To search for screenplays in the library, use Screenplays as a search term along with an author or a title or a publisher. For example: screenplays edward burns brings up this book.

To browse screenplays, try a more general "Subject List" search for the term Motion picture plays.

However, keep in mind that many published scripts (especially for television) have no subject heading at all, and will only have the words "script," "scripts," "film script," "shooting script," or "screenplay" in the title or keywords. You can alternatively do a subject search for the name of a film or program, and this will sometimes produce a title that includes the script.

The Drama Scholars Index to Plays and Filmscripts by Gordon Samples
Call Number: PCL Stacks PN 1631 S2271 & Fine Arts Library

Publication Date: 1974-04-01
Published Screenplays by Clifford McCarty
Call Number: PCL Stacks PN 1995 M333

ISBN: 0873381122

Publication Date: 1971-04-01
Published Video, Television, and Film Scripts by G. Howard Poteet
Call Number: PCL Stacks PN 1991.77 P684

Publication Date: 1975-01-01

Harry Ransom Center
The Ransom Center film collection provides research opportunities for scholars working in history, music, popular culture, textual criticism, and film history and criticism. The collections include more than 10,000 scripts for film, television, and radio; more than 15,000 posters, lobby cards, and other advertising materials; and over a million photographs, including film stills, portrait and publicity photographs, set and location reference stills, makeup and wardrobe stills, and candid, behind-the-scenes photographs.