Skip to main content
University of Texas University of Texas Libraries

Harry Ransom Center Research

Home

Introduction

Welcome!

We're happy you're interested in doing research at the Harry Ransom Center! The purpose of this guide is to introduce you to primary source materials, and the kinds of research we can do with them.

We offer an overview of the archival collections available for research at the Ransom Center and provide tips on how to get started. Use the tabs on the left to explore frequently asked questions, such as how to register as for a Research Account, or how to find and request collection material.

What is an Archive or Special Collection?

"Special Collections" and "Archives" are often used interchangeably to refer to the original, non-circulating rare material in the Ransom Center collections.
The Center's collections are represented by a variety of finding aids, catalogs, and databases. Finding aids provide information on collections, such as biographical information, content and location of items, and their organization. Most of the Ransom Center's finding aids are found online and can be used to help you find what you need. In some case, collections are not online or uncataloged. In this event, we recommend that you contact us for more information.  
The Center's collections include manuscripts, books, periodicals, visual materials (photography, film, performing arts, and fine arts), costumes and personal effects, and digital collections.
 

 

Contact Us

For general information or help with reference and research, call (512) 471-9119 or email reference@hrc.utexas.edu.
A member of our Reference and Research staff will get back to you at the earliest opportunity. 

For other inquiries, you may find our staff directory here.
 

Visit

Location and Hours

The Harry Ransom Center is located on The University of Texas at Austin campus at the northeast corner of Guadalupe and 21st streets (see map).

Library Reading and Viewing Room Hours

9 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday - Saturday

Closed Sundays and University holidays. 
See our page on Visting the Ransom Center for more details. 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.