The American Cancer Society's Principles of Clinical Oncology by
Developed by the American Cancer Society this new textbook designed for a wide range of learners and practitioners is a comprehensive reference covering the diagnosis of cancer, and a range of related issues that are key to a multidisciplinary approach to cancer and critical to cancer control and may be used in conjunction with the book, The American Cancer Society's Oncology in Practice: Clinical Management.Edited by leading clinicians in the field and a stellar contributor list from the US and Europe, this book is written in an easy to understand style by multidisciplinary teams of medical oncologists, radiation oncologists and other specialists, reflecting day-to-day decision-making and clinical practice. Input from pathologists, surgeons, radiologists, and other specialists is included wherever relevant and comprehensive treatment guidelines are provided by expert contributors where there is no standard recognized treatment. This book is an ideal resource for anyone seeking a deeper understanding of cancer prevention, screening, and follow-up, which are central to the ACS's worldwide mission on cancer control.
The Biology and Treatment of Cancer by
Offers a broad audience a concise presentation of the most up-to-date knowledge about the biology and treatment of cancer Full coverage of cancer prevention and control Clear, thorough discussion of current and possible future therapies Edited by two of the most eminent and widely recognized scholars of cancer research and therapeutics in the world, with contributions from top researchers and clinicians from across North America
Cancer: Basic Science and Clinical Aspects by
This forward looking cancer biology book appeals to a wide ranging audience. Introductory chapters that provide the molecular, cellular, and genetic information needed to comprehend the material of the subsequent chapters bring unprepared students up to speed for the rest of the book and serve as a useful refresher for those with previous biology background. The second set of chapters focuses on the main cancers in terms of risk factors, diagnostic and treatment methods and relevant current research. The final section encompasses the immune system's role in the prevention and development of cancer and the impact that the Human Genome Project will have on future approaches to cancer care. While best suited to non-majors cancer biology courses, the depth provided satisfies courses that combine both majors and non-majors. Also, and deliberately, the authors have incorporated relevant information on diagnosis and treatment options that lend appeal to the lay reader.
Cancer biology : how science works by
Cancer is a collection of diseases that can affect basically every organ of our body, all of which have in common uncontrolled cellular growth. The cells forming our body have the potential to grow in the context of wound healing or for the constant replacement of cells in our blood, skin or intestine. Behind every newly diagnosed malignant tumor in adulthood there is an individual history of probably 20 or more years of tumorigenesis. Therefore, malignant tumor formation often takes time making cancer in most cases to an aging-related disease that we seem not to be able to evade. However, tumorigenesis is dependent on multiple environmental influences, many of which we have under control by lifestyle decisions, such as retaining from smoking, selecting healthy food and being physically active. Thus, cancer preventive interventions are the most effective way to fight against cancer.
Cancer sourcebook by
Provides basic consumer health information about risks, prevention, and treatment of major forms of cancer. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.
DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer by
DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer: Principles & Practice of Oncology, 10th edition has garnered universal acclaim as the world's definitive, standard-setting oncology reference . More than 400 respected luminaries explore today's most effective strategies for managing every type of cancer by stage of presentation - discussing the role of all appropriate therapeutic modalities as well as combined-modality treatments. This multidisciplinary approach will help your cancer team collaboratively face the toughest clinical challenges and provide the best possible care for every cancer patient. Take full advantage of the latest advances with brand-new chapters on Hallmarks of Cancer, Molecular Methods in Cancer, Oncogenic Viruses, Cancer Screening , and new sections on Genetic testing and counseling for cancer, plus comprehensive updates throughout - including coverage of the newest biologic therapies . Make optimal, well-coordinated use of all appropriate therapies with balanced, multidisciplinary advice from a surgeon, a medical oncologist, and a radiation oncologist in each major treatment chapter. Review the latest molecular biology knowledge for each type of cancer and its implications for improved management. Make the best decisions on cancer screening and prevention, palliative care, supportive oncology, and quality-of-life issues.
Encyclopedia of Cancer by
Encyclopedia of Cancer, Third Edition provides a comprehensive, up-to-date overview of the multiple facets of the disease, including research, treatment and societal impact. This new edition comprises 180 contributions from renown experts who present the latest in Mechanisms, Hallmarks of Cancer, Causes of Cancer, Prevention and Control, Diagnosis and Therapy, Pathology and the Genetics of specific Cancers. Readers will find a comprehensive overview of the main areas of oncology, including etiology, mechanisms, prevention, and treatments, from basic science to clinical applications and public health, all set alongside the latest advances and hot topics that have emerged since the previous edition. Topics of interest in the field, including genomics and epigenomics, our understanding of the causes of cancer and the approaches to preventing it (e.g., HPV vaccination, role of obesity and nutrition, molecular markers of environmental exposures), new screening techniques (e.g., low-dose CT for lung cancer) and improvements in the treatment of many cancers (e.g., breast cancer, lung adenocarcinoma) are comprehensively and authoritatively presented. Comprises 180 contributions from renowned experts who present the latest in mechanisms, hallmarks of cancer, causes, prevention and control, diagnosis and therapy, pathology and genetics Presents a comprehensive overview of the main areas of oncology, including etiology, mechanisms, prevention, and treatments, from basic science to clinical applications and public health
Encyclopedia of Cancer by
This work comprehensively describes etiological factors in the development , Progression and metastasis of human cancers, both for hematological malignancies and for solid Tumors. Approaches for the diagnosis as well as for therapies are outlined too. The fourth edition of the "Encyclopedia of Cancer" features a vastly extended number of terms as compared to the previous edition. Previously published entries have enjoyed a vigorous updating and adjustment to current status of knowledge, a large number of new timely entries have been added to consider the amazing progress and modern developments both in basic and clinical aspects of cancer. Up-to date and authoritative Essays present a comprehensive picture of topics ranging from pathology, to clinical oncology, and targeted therapy for personalized cancer medicine for major human cancers, in particular breast cancer, colorectal cancer, prostate cancer, renal cancer lung cancer and hematological malignancies , leukemias and lymphomas. Each author is an international authority for the particular topic, and each entry has been adjusted to an easy-to-follow reader-friendly structure that allows to collect very rapidly essential information. At the same time, these essays should be considered a starting point from which the quest for more detailed information can depart. Extensive cross referencing of essays is an instrument by whic h the acquisition of the complete picture of a particular topic will be facilitated.
The MD Anderson Manual of Medical Oncology, Fourth Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Expert, hands-on guidance for managing and treating all major cancers--from the world-renowned physicians at The MD Anderson Cancer Center Comprehensive and authoritative, The MD Anderson Manual of Medical Oncology delivers everything you need to accurately diagnose and effectively treat a wide range cancers--including leukemia, lymphoma, myeloma, lung and breast cancer, genitourinary carcinoma, melanoma, and sarcoma. This unmatched resource emphasizes practical, actionable steps to cancer treatment, providing "to the point" recommendations, chapter summary boxes, tables, charts, expert opinion and patient education boxes, practice tips, cases, and prescriptive advice. And the new format of this updated edition quickly guides you to the topic, the affiliated relevant chapter, new findings affecting clinical practice, and reference/evidence. NEW format helps you get to the clinical bottom line quicker than ever NEW Q&A, cases, patient education information, expert advice, and more Expanded coverage of immunotherapy treatment--written by the 2018 Nobel Prize-winner for immunology Online content is continually updated Includes a comparative table with guidelines from the European Society of Medical Oncology and the American Society of Clinical Oncology
Oncology by
The Mount Sinai Expert Guides provide quick access to point-of-care specialist clinical information for physicians across a range of therapeutic areas. For each specialty area, the guides emphasize: Common pitfalls in diagnosis and management How to prevent complications Diagnostic and treatment algorithms Key scientific trials Evidence-based clinical content Major society guidelines in order to summarize the very latest in diagnosis and management of diseases and related symptoms. Edited by renowned specialists from the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, key faculty members provide the content for all chapters. To ensure consistency within each book and the series as a whole, chapters follow a unified structure throughout. Bonus features such as online case studies with related questions for self-assessment, key patient advice, and ICD codes are provided via the series companion website. Each guide also has its own mobile app available for purchase, allowing you rapid access to the key features wherever you may be.
Oncology at a Glance by
This brand new title in the market-leading at a Glance series brings together fundamental information on cancer biology and treatment to provide a holistic understanding of oncology. It explores both relevant scientific content and key human issues, including communication and palliative care. Oncology at a Glance: * Provides an accessible overview of the scientific foundation of cancer medicine * Covers the common cancers as well as key information on presentation and approaches to investigation and management * Includes young adult oncology, the multidisciplinary team, clinical trials in oncology, approach to treatment and response assessment, management of nausea, and end-of-life care * Was developed with students for students, to ensure it contains exactly what students need to know Oncology at a Glance is an ideal guide for medical students and foundation-year doctors as well as any other healthcare professionals looking to consolidate their knowledge of oncology.
Pocket guide to cancer : origins and revelations by
A Guide to Cancer: Origins and Revelations unfolds the complex and fascinating topic of cancer in two ways: firstly, no specialist knowledge is assumed on the part of the reader, and secondly, despite the serious nature of the topics, the book aims to stimulate interest, provoke thought, and paradoxically entertain. It takes an array of complex topics and breaks them down in clear, concise terms, so that anyone with a basic knowledge of science can understand. The book is aimed at the general public as well as students of biological subjects, first and second year university students, and researchers in the nascent field of cancer genomics.
Treatment of Cancer by
Treatment of Cancer is a multi-author work and comprehensive guide on modern cancer treatment that aims to give clinician and student alike the framework for an integrated approach to patient care, including radiotherapy, chemotherapy, and surgery. Much information is presented in tables and charts for easy assimilation, and clear algorithms for patient pathways are included to make decisions straightforward while allowing for sound clinical judgement.
Understanding Cancer: From Basics to Therapeutics by
Understanding Cancer: From Basics to Therapeutics presents both basic concepts and research prospects in the field of cancer biology. This book summarizes the fundamental aspects of cancer and presents a detailed description of molecular aspects as well as treatment and therapeutics for patients. The book is divided into three parts: the first part deals with the basics of cancer, including etiology and medical diagnosis; the second part explores the molecular mechanisms associated with cancer, focusing on cell cycle and apoptosis, cell metabolism, gene regulation, epigenetics, and stem cells; and the third part is dedicated to therapeutics, discussing chemo and radiotherapies, gene, hormone, herbal, and immunotherapies. It is a valuable resource for cancer researchers, oncologists, graduate students, and biomedical researchers who need to understand the fundamental topics related to cancer to apply to their research work or clinical setting.
Understanding Cancer by
One in two of us will develop cancer at some point in our lives and yet many of us don't understand how cancers arise. How many different kinds of cancer are there? What treatments are available? What does the future hold in terms of developing new therapies? This book demystifies cancer by explaining the underlying cell and molecular biology in a clear and accessible style. It answers the questions commonly asked about cancer such as what causes cancer and how cancer develops. It explains how DNA makes proteins and how mutations can corrupt those proteins. It also gives an overview of current therapies and how treatments may advance over the next decades, as well as explaining what actions we can take to help prevent cancer developing. Understanding Cancer is an accessible and engaging introduction to cancer biology for any interested reader.
Stedman's Medical Dictionary by
Stedman's Medical Dictionary is the most reliable resource available for healthcare, including medical students, physicians, educators, researchers, and medical language specialists. This new edition includes more than 107,000 terms and definitions, more than 5,000 new to this edition. More than 45 consultants from all the major medical and health science specialties have reviewed each word for accuracy and clarity, including new consultants for the specialties of endocrinology, gastroenterology, geriatrics, and rheumatology. The art program has also been extensively enhanced and now includes approximately 1,500 images and illustrations. Readers will recognize the authoritative content contained in this new edition, and want to add it to their list of must have references.
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary, 24th ed. by
Put the language of nursing, medicine, and the healthcare professions at your fingertips. In hand, online, or on your mobile device--anywhere and everywhere, Taber's 24 is the all-in-one, go-to source in the classroom, clinical, and beyond.Under the editorial direction of Donald Venes, MD, MSJ, the content reflects today's most current and relevant information.
Webster's New World Medical Dictionary by
When your doctor uses terms like intraductal carcinoma or akathisia, do you understand and can you ask the right questions? If you, like most Americans, are taking a more active role in your family’s healthcare, the fully revised and updated Webster’s New World™ Medical Dictionary, Third Edition will help you understand and communicate your medical needs when it matters the most. Written by doctors and the experts at WebMD, this edition includes 8500 entries, including 500 new terms, a vitamin appendix, and a companion website to give you access to medical language.
The Big Picture: Gross Anatomy by
More than 400 full-color illustrations along with brief, memorable text help you understand gross anatomy in the context of healthcare NEW! High-quality videos on each major topic - great for visual learners! The Big Picture: Gross Anatomy, Second Edition is the perfect bridge between reviews and textbooks. With an emphasis on what you truly need to know versus "what's nice to know", it features more than 400 full-color illustrations, along with a simple, effective page design that gives you a complete, yet concise, overview of essential anatomy. The book's user-friendly presentation consists of text on the left-hand page and beautiful full-color illustrations on the right-hand page. In this way, you get a "big picture" of anatomy principles, delivered one concept at a time - making them easier to understand and remember.
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 21st ed. by
Harrison's is intended for learners throughout their careers. For students, Part 1, Chapter 1 begins with an overview of "The Practice of Medicine". In this introductory chapter, the editors continue the tradition of orienting clinicians to the science and the art of medicine, emphasizing the values of our profession while incorporating new advances in technology, science, and clinical care. Part 2, "Cardinal Manifestations and Presentation of Diseases" is a signature feature of Harrison's. These chapters eloquently describe how patients present with common clinical conditions, such as headache, fever, cough, palpitations, or anemia, and provide an overview of typical symptoms, physical findings, and differential diagnosis. Mastery of these topics prepares students for subsequent chapters on specific diseases they will encounter in courses on pathophysiology and in clinical clerkships
Goldman-Cecil Medicine by
Since 1927, Goldman-Cecil Medicine has been the world's most influential internal medicine resource. In the ground-breaking 25th edition, your original purchase ensures you will be up-to-date without the need for a subscription. Through the new, more powerful Expert Consult eBook platform, this "living text" provides continuous updates that will integrate the latest research, guidelines, and treatments into each chapter, ensuring that the content is as current as the day this edition was first published. Goldman-Cecil Medicine offers definitive, unbiased guidance on the evaluation and management of every medical condition, presented by a veritable "Who's Who" of modern medicine. A practical, straightforward sty≤ templated organization; evidence-based references; and robust interactive content combine to make this dynamic resource quite simply the fastest and best place to find all of the authoritative, state-of-the-art clinical answers you need. "The content is superb, authoritative and not surprisingly very up to date." Reviewed by: Dr Harry Brown, on behalf of Glycosmedia Date: July 2015 Expert Consult eBook version included with print purchase: Access continuous updates from Editor Lee Goldman, MD, who thoroughly reviews internal medicine and specialty journals, updating online content to reflect the latest guidelines and translating that evidence into treatment. Interactive Q&A section features over 1,500 board-style questions and answers to aid in preparing for certification or recertification exams. Outstanding supplementary tools include figures, tables, videos, heart and lung sounds, treatment and management algorithms, fully integrated references, and thousands of illustrations and full-color photos. Search all of the text, figures, supplementary material, and references from the book on a variety of devices and at no additional cost - Expert Consult access is included with this title! Practical, bulleted, highly templated text with easy-to-use features including flow charts and treatment boxes. New chapters on global health, cancer biology and genetics, and the human microbiome in health and disease keep you on the cutting edge of medicine. Today's most current evidence-based medicine guidelines help you form a definitive diagnosis and create the best treatment plans possible. Focused coverage of the latest developments in biology includes the specifics of current diagnosis, therapy, and medication doses. The reference of choice for every stage of your career! Goldman-Cecil Medicine is an ideal learning tool for residents, physicians, and students as well as a valuable go-to resource for experienced healthcare professionals. Cecil - the best internal medicine resource available since 1927 - far exceeds the competition in versatility, ease-of-use and up-to-datedness.
Search the UT Libraries book catalog to find additional e-books
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.
