Skip to Main Content
American Journal of Cancer Research
The American Journal of Cancer Research (AJCR) (ISSN 2156-6976), is an independent open access, online only
journal to facilitate rapid dissemination of novel discoveries in basic science and treatment of cancer. It was founded by a group of scientists for cancer research and clinical academic oncologists from around the world, who
are devoted to the promotion and advancement of our understanding of the cancer and its treatment.
Annual Review of Cancer Biology
The Annual Review of Cancer Biology reviews a range of subjects in cancer research that represent important and emerging areas in the field. With recent advances in our understanding of the basic mechanisms of cancer development and the translation of an increasing number of these findings into the clinic in the form of targeted treatments for the disease, the Annual Review of Cancer Biology is divided into three broad themes: Cancer Cell Biology, Tumorigenesis and Cancer Progression, and Translational Cancer Science.
BMC Cancer is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on all aspects of cancer research, including the pathophysiology, prevention, diagnosis and treatment of cancers. The journal welcomes submissions concerning molecular and cellular biology, genetics, epidemiology, and clinical trials.
British Journal of Cancer
The British Journal of Cancer (BJC) is one of the most cited general cancer journals, it is committed to publishing cutting edge discovery, translational and clinical cancer research. The BJC aims to provide a global platform to disseminate important research within the broad spectrum of oncology. The journal welcomes research across all cancer types and has a focus on: metastasis, microenvironment, immunology and immunotherapy, targeted and next-generation therapeutics, chemotherapy and radiotherapy, mechanisms of resistance, clinical trials, genomics, epigenomics and precision medicine, epidemiology, metabolism and state-of-the art diagnostic approaches.
CA: A Cancer Journal for Clinicians
Published since 1950 by the American Cancer Society, CA: A Cancer Journal for Clinicians is one of the oldest peer-reviewed journals in oncology. The journal also retains the highest impact factor of all ISI-ranked journals. CA reaches a very wide and diverse group of health professionals, and provides an unparalleled opportunity to present information to these professionals about cancer prevention, early detection, treatment of all forms, palliation, advocacy issues, quality-of-life topics, and more. As the flagship journal of the American Cancer Society, the journal publishes mission-based content that impacts patient care. CA is free to access online and also provides free journal-based continuing education for physicians and nurses.
Aims and Scope
CA provides cancer care professionals with up-to-date information on all aspects of cancer diagnosis, treatment, and prevention. The journal focuses on keeping physicians and healthcare professionals informed by providing scientific and educational information in the form of comprehensive review articles and online continuing education activities on important cancer topics and issues that are important to cancer care, along with publishing the latest cancer guidelines and statistical articles from the American Cancer Society.
Cancer, an international interdisciplinary journal of the American Cancer Society, publishes high-impact, peer-reviewed original articles and solicited content on the latest clinical research findings. Each issue of Cancer strives to be comprehensive, spanning the breadth of oncology disciplines and providing something for everyone involved in cancer research, risk reduction, treatment, and patient care.
Cancer Biology & Therapy
Cancer Biology & Therapy aims to publish original research on the molecular basis of cancer, including articles with translational relevance to diagnosis or therapy. We will include timely reviews covering the broad scope of the journal. The journal will also publish op-ed pieces and meeting reports of interest. The goal is to foster communication and rapid exchange of information through timely publication of important results using traditional as well as electronic formats. The journal and the outstanding Editorial Board will strive to maintain the highest standards for excellence in all activities to generate a valuable resource.
Cancer Causes & Control
Cancer Causes & Control is an international refereed journal that both reports and stimulates new avenues of investigation into the causes, control, and subsequent prevention of cancer. Its multidisciplinary and multinational approach draws together information published in a diverse range of journals.
Coverage extends to variation in cancer distribution within and between populations; factors associated with cancer risk; preventive and therapeutic interventions on a population scale; economic, demographic, and health-policy implications of cancer; and related methodological issues.
Cancer Causes & Control publishes original articles, reviews, short communications, commentaries, opinions, and letters to the editor which have direct relevance to researchers and practitioners working in epidemiology, medical statistics, cancer biology, health education, medical economics and related fields. The journal also provides significant information for government agencies concerned with cancer research, control and policy.
Cancer Cell provides a high-profile forum to promote major advances in cancer research and oncology. The primary criterion for considering manuscripts is whether the studies provide major advances into answering important questions relevant to naturally occurring cancers. Cancer Cell particularly welcomes translational research.
Cancer Cell is also interested in publishing clinical investigations, in particular those that lead to establishing new paradigms in the treatment, diagnosis, or prevention of cancers; those that provide important insights into cancer biology beyond what has been revealed by preclinical studies; and those that are mechanism-based proof-of-principle clini
Cancer Epidemiology is dedicated to increasing understanding about cancer causes, prevention and control. The scope of the journal embraces all aspects of cancer epidemiology including:
• Descriptive epidemiology
• Studies of risk factors for disease initiation, development and prognosis
• Screening and early detection
• Prevention and control
• Methodological issues
he aim of Cancer Genetics is to publish high quality scientific papers on the cellular, genetic and molecular aspects of cancer, including cancer predisposition and clinical diagnostic applications. Specific areas of interest include descriptions of new chromosomal, molecular or epigenetic alterations in benign and malignant diseases; novel laboratory approaches for identification and characterization of chromosomal rearrangements or genomic alterations in cancer cells; correlation of genetic changes with pathology and clinical presentation; and the molecular genetics of cancer predisposition. To reach a basic science and clinical multidisciplinary audience, we welcome original full-length articles, reviews, meeting summaries, brief reports, and letters to the editor.
Cancer Letters is an international journal that considers full-length articles and Mini Reviews in the broad area of basic and translational oncology. Additionally, Special Issues highlight topical areas in cancer research. Basic areas of interest to a broad readership of Cancer Letters include the molecular genetics and cell biology of cancer, radiation biology, molecular pathology, hormones and cancer, viral oncology, metastasis, and chemoprevention. The journal places emphasis on experimental therapeutics, particularly targeted therapies for personalized cancer medicine.
Cancer Prevention Research
Cancer Prevention Research publishes original studies, reviews, and perspectives in the field of cancer prevention. Its scope includes the molecular and cellular biology of premalignancy and early lesions; genetic and environmental risk factors; risk assessment and reduction; early detection research (cancer screening and diagnosis); and preventive interventions (chemoprevention, immunoprevention, and others) to intercept cancer development at early stages prior to initiation, promotion, or progression. The journal comprises preclinical, clinical, and translational research, with special attention given to molecular discoveries and an emphasis on building a translational bridge between the basic and clinical sciences.
Cancer Research publishes original studies, reviews, and opinion pieces offering significance and broad impact to a diverse audience. Cancer Research seeks manuscripts that offer pathobiological and translational impact to inform the personal, clinical, and societal problems posed by cancer. The main scope of the journal is captured in its primary subsections:
Genome and Epigenome
Metabolism and Chemical Biology
Molecular Cell Biology
Tumor Biology and Immunology
Convergence and Technologies
Population and Prevention Science
The following criteria provide an overview
Cancer Treatment Reviews
Cancer Treatment Reviews is an international journal that provides state of the art, authoritative review articles to the clinician and researcher to keep them abreast of modern concepts and the latest developments in cancer treatment research.
Clinical Cancer Research
Clinical Cancer Research publishes innovative clinical and translational cancer research studies that bridge the laboratory and the clinic. The Journal is especially interested in clinical trials evaluating new treatments, accompanied by research on pharmacology, and molecular alterations or biomarkers that predict response or resistance to treatment. The Journal also prioritizes laboratory and animal studies of new drugs and molecule-targeted agents with the potential to lead to clinical trials, and studies of targetable mechanisms of oncogenesis, progression of the malignant phenotype, and metastatic disease.
Specific areas of interest include clinical and translational research in targeted therapies; mechanisms of drug sensitivity and resistance; pharmacogenetics and pharmacogenomics; personalized medicine; novel applications of bioinformatics and biostatistics; immunotherapy and clinical immunology; gene therapy; radiobiology and radiation oncology; large-scale molecular characterization of human tumors; diagnostic biomarkers; innovative imaging and other novel methods with potential applicability to clinical investigation; clinical genetics; and detection of minimal disease.
Critical Reviews in Oncology/Hematology
Critical Reviews in Oncology/Hematology publishes scholarly, critical reviews in all fields of oncology and hematology written by experts from around the world. Critical Reviews in Oncology/Hematology is the Official Journal of the European School of Oncology (ESO).
Current Oncology Reports
Current Oncology Reports provides in-depth review articles contributed by international experts on the most significant developments in the field. By presenting clear, insightful, balanced reviews that emphasize recently published papers of major importance, the journal serves all those involved in the diagnosis, treatment, management, and prevention of cancer.
Browse Volumes & Issues
Current Problems in Cancer
Current Problems in Cancer aims to fortify the field of oncology by publishing strong articles focused upon disease management, prevention, strategies for early diagnosis, specific classes of therapeutic agents, results of a clinical trial, an emerging interventional technique, supportive care, and rehabilitation/reconstruction. The journal's unique issue structure allows for a multi-faceted overview of a single topic via a curated selection of review articles, while also offering articles that present dynamic and front-line material immediately influencing the field.The journal focuses on clinical practice and translational research and does not publish basic science studies.
Current Treatment Options in Oncology
Current Treatment Options in Oncology offers in-depth review articles contributed by international experts on the most significant developments in the field. By providing clear, insightful, balanced review articles that emphasize recently published papers of major importance, the journal elucidates current and emerging approaches to the treatment of cancer.
European Journal of Cancer
The European Journal of Cancer (EJC) integrates preclinical, translational, and clinical research in cancer, from epidemiology, carcinogenesis and biology through to innovations in cancer treatment and patient care. The journal publishes original research, reviews, previews, editorial comments and correspondence.
European Journal of Cancer Care
The European Journal of Cancer Care provides a medium for communicating multiprofessional cancer care across Europe and internationally. The Journal publishes original research reports, literature reviews, guest editorials, letters to the Editor and special features on current issues affecting the care of cancer patients. The European Journal of Cancer Careis essential reading for all health care professionals working in:
Epidemiology and health policy of cancer
Supportive cancer care
Cancer education – professional and public
Experimental Hematology & Oncology
Experimental Hematology & Oncology is an open access journal that encompasses all aspects of hematology and oncology with an emphasis on preclinical, basic, patient-oriented and translational research. The journal acts as an international platform for sharing laboratory findings in these areas and makes a deliberate effort to publish clinical trials with 'negative' results and basic science studies with provocative findings.
Genes & Cancer
Cancer research has entered a new and exciting phase where the convergence of information from genomics, bioinformatics and modern genetics are beginning to provide new clues into how cancer cells overcome growth regulatory pathways. To capture this excitement, Genes & Cancer covers all aspects of the structure and function of oncogenes, growth suppressor and apoptotic genes, their role in signal transduction and the mechanisms by which their expression and function are altered during tumor development. In addition to publishing manuscripts that directly relate to these areas of research, we hope to attract papers in the areas of genomics, drug development and systems biology.
JAMA Oncology is committed to publishing influential original research, opinions, and reviews that advance the science of oncology and improve the clinical care of patients with cancer. Our original, innovative, and timely scientific and educational content provides a deeper understanding of cancer pathogenesis and recent treatment advances for our readers. JAMA Oncology aims to effectively convey the findings of important clinical research, major scientific breakthroughs, actionable discoveries, and state-of-the-art treatment pathways to the oncology community. Our goal is that successful communication of new knowledge will ultimately translate to clinical benefit for people living with and surviving cancer.
Journal of Cancer Research & Clinical Oncology
The "Journal of Cancer Research and Clinical Oncology" publishes significant and up-to-date articles within the fields of experimental and clinical oncology. The journal, which is chiefly devoted to Original papers, also includes Reviews as well as Editorials and Guest editorials on current, controversial topics. The section Letters to the editors provides a forum for a rapid exchange of comments and information concerning previously published papers and topics of current interest. Meeting reports provide current information on the latest results presented at important congresses.
The following fields are covered: carcinogenesis - etiology, mechanisms; molecular biology; recent developments in tumor therapy; general diagnosis; laboratory diagnosis; diagnostic and experimental pathology; oncologic surgery; and epidemiology.
Journal of Cancer Survivorship
Cancer survivorship is a worldwide concern. More and more cancer survivors are searching for legitimate sources of health information and educating themselves via the internet. In addition, the research in this area is growing rapidly and requires a forum. Journal of Cancer Survivorship publishes original research on humans (both laboratory and clinical), systematic and meta-analytic literature reviews, clinical investigations and policy-related research that can impact the quality of care and quality of life of adult cancer survivors.The journal presents peer reviewed papers relevant to improving the understanding, prevention, and management of the multiple areas related to adult cancer survivorship that can affect quality of care, longevity, and quality of life.
Journal of Experimental & Clinical Cancer Research
Journal of Experimental & Clinical Cancer Research is an online peer-reviewed journal that publishes original research papers, reviews and commentaries in cancer research, from bench to bedside.
Journal of Experimental & Clinical Cancer Research seeks manuscripts that include significant advances in basic cancer research and that offer a translational bridge from the laboratory to the clinic to open new avenues for the understanding, prevention, diagnosis and treatment of cancer.
Journal of Global Oncology
The Journal of Global Oncology (JGO) is an online only, open access journal focused on cancer care, research and care delivery issues unique to countries and settings with limited healthcare resources.
JGO aims to provide a home for high-quality literature that fulfills a growing need for content describing the array of challenges health care professionals in resource-constrained settings face. Article types include original reports, review articles, commentaries, correspondence/replies, special articles and editorials.
The Lancet Oncology
The Lancet Oncology is the world-leading clinical oncology journal publishing high-quality, peer reviewed original research (especially reports from clinical trials), reviews, comment and opinion, weekly news, and Commissions (typically in partnership with societies, governments, NGOs, and academy centres). The journal is lively and informative, covering international issues relevant to clinical cancer specialties worldwide. Content covers topics that advance clinical practice, challenge the status quo, advocate change in health policy, and tackle issues related to global oncology.
Medical Oncology (MO) communicates the results of clinical and experimental research in oncology and hematology, particularly with experimental therapeutics with the field of immunotherapy and chemotherapy. It also provides state-of-the-art reviews on clinical and experimental therapies in oncology and hematology. Topics covered include immunobiology, pathogenesis, and treatment of malignant tumors.
Molecular Cancer Research
Molecular Cancer Research publishes articles describing novel basic cancer research discoveries of broad interest to the field. Studies must be of demonstrated significance, and the journal prioritizes analyses performed at the molecular and cellular level that reveal novel mechanistic insight into pathways and processes linked to cancer risk, development, and/or progression. Areas of emphasis include all cancer-associated pathways (including cell-cycle regulation; cell death; chromatin regulation; DNA damage and repair; gene and RNA regulation; genomics; oncogenes and tumor suppressors; signal transduction; and tumor microenvironment), in addition to studies describing new molecular mechanisms and interactions that support cancer phenotypes. For full consideration, primary research submissions must provide significant novel insight into existing pathway functions or address new hypotheses associated with cancer-relevant biologic questions.
Molecular Cancer Therapeutics
Molecular Cancer Therapeutics strives to be the top choice for publishing the best science in the discovery and preclinical development of novel therapeutic agents for oncology, preclinical studies of approved therapeutics, mechanisms of drug action, mechanisms of drug resistance, biomarkers of drug response, novel models and technologies, and occasional drug toxicity mechanisms. While the journal's main focus is on small molecule and protein drugs, other molecular entities may be considered.
Nature Reviews: Cancer
Nature Reviews Cancer aims to be the premier source of reviews and commentaries for the scientific communities we serve. We strive to publish articles that are authoritative, accessible and enhanced with clearly understandable figures, tables and other display items. We want to provide an unparalleled service to authors, referees and readers, and we work hard to maximize the usefulness and impact of each article. The journal publishes Research Highlights, Comments, Reviews and Perspectives relevant to cancer researchers, with our broad scope ensuring that the articles we publish reach the widest possible audience.
Nutrition and Cancer
This timely publication reports and reviews current findings on the effects of nutrition on the etiology, therapy, and prevention of cancer. Etiological issues include clinical and experimental research in nutrition, carcinogenesis, epidemiology, biochemistry, and molecular biology. Coverage of therapy focuses on research in clinical nutrition and oncology, dietetics, and bioengineering. Prevention approaches include public health recommendations, preventative medicine, behavior modification, education, functional foods, and agricultural and food production policies.
Seminars in Cancer Biology
Seminars in Cancer Biology is a review journal dedicated to keeping scientists informed of developments in the field of molecular oncology on a topic by topic basis. Each issue is thematic in approach, devoted to an important topic of interest to cancer biologists, from the underlying genetic and molecular causes of cellular transformation and cancer to the molecular basis of potential therapies.