Find Sources - UGS 303: Ethics of Artificial Intelligence - Profs. Kubala and Mahowald - LibGuides at University of Texas at Austin

Find Sources through the Libraries

Library databases and Google can't be searched the same way so take a few moments to come up with a search strategy before diving into a database.

Step 1: Think about the key concepts of your topic and search those instead of an entire phrases or sentences.

Step 2: Think of other terms you could use that are synonyms or related (they could be a broader or narrower aspect). This often requires that you do a little background research to learn more.

Step 3: Connect your terms using AND and OR:

Remember -

AND narrows your topic (use AND between terms if you want them all to appear in your results)
OR broadens your topic (use OR between terms if you want any, not all, to appear in your results)

Generate Keywords from a Topic

This tool can help you create search terms and formulate an effective search.

Libraries Search Box
Search across many of the Libraries electronic and print resources at once. Includes articles, books, ebooks and more.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly and non-scholarly articles from across disciplines
Updated daily. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Use GoogleScholar through this guide or the library website to search for scholarly articles with a Google search and be connected to library subscriptions instead of being asked to pay.
Google Scholar uses the popular Google search engine to enable searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Google Scholar includes full text and citations.
Use this link to access Google Scholar, and see our Google Scholar Guide for information on using this resource.
If you encounter a warning about the security certificate when using the FindIt@UT tool in Google Scholar, you can learn more about that using this guide.

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education
The collection includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Linguistics
Monthly updates, with about 14,000 new records added a year. Indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
PsycINFO (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Psychology
Updated monthly. Indexes and abstracts over 1,700 sources, including international material selected from periodicals written in over 35 languages. Contains current chapter and book coverage with worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present, and adds over 60,000 references annually through monthly updates. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines.
Has over 1.8 million individual records, some dating back to 1887, and includes abstracts from Psychological Abstracts back to 1927, Psychological Bulletin from 1921-1926, and all APA journals and the American Journal of Psychology back to their first issues. Corresponds in part to the print index Psychological Abstracts.
Science and Technology This link opens in a new window
Science and technology
Updated regularly. Contains over 800 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences and materials science. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences
In addition to full-text journals, SocINDEX with Full Text contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. Includes indexing for books, monographs, conference papers and other non-periodical content sources.

Databases by Discipline
Find other databases based on discipline.

If you don’t see a .pdf of the article you want, click Find it at UT to find it in another database or in print in the Libraries.

If it is only in print in the Libraries or we don’t own the article, click Get a Scan to have the article emailed to you, usually within 5 days.

Google Better

Use a site-limited Google search to hone your search to types of sites:

Limit by type of domain (.org, .gov, .edu) with the syntax site:.domain
example: artificial intelligence maternal health site:.org

Use a site-limited Google search to search within a site:

example: artificial intelligence maternal health site:cdc.gov = searches for the words on the CDc website

Use quotation marks to keep words together as a phrase:

example: "maternal health" = searches for maternal and health next to each other

Use the minus sign to eliminate something irrelevant from my search results:

example: -site:.com = no .com sites will come up in your search
example:maternal health -covid = no results mentioning covid will come up

Doing Research with Gen AI Chatbots

Ask for citations or links and then verify they exist. Althought they are getting better, AI chatbots sometimes "hallucinate" sources, meaning they make up sources that don't exist.
If you are going to use the information generated by a chatbot, be sure to cite it. Here are some ways to cite in MLA, APA and Chicago style. You may want to save what was generated because it is not reproducible. That menas the reader cannot use the citation to get back to the information you used unless you provide it.
Just as you should do with any source of information, evaluate it. In the case of chatbot generated content, you should read about the topic in other sources to make sure it aligns.
Be aware of what is and is not included in the data corpus used to train the chatbot and make sure the timeframe and type of information it is trained on matches your information need. Chatbots like ChatGPT and MicrosoftCoPilot that are trained on the open web do not include information behind a paywall, which is where the majority of scholarly information can be found.
If you want scholary information and are ok with it only including the portion that isn't behind a paywall, rather than using a general chatbot, consider using a generative AI tool specifically created to search non-paywalled scholarly information, such as Consensus, Elicit or ResearchRabbit.