LibGuides: Biomedical Engineering: Books &amp; Encyclopedias

Find books

Use the Library Catalog to Find Books

Searching for a Book

Use the library catalog to find book holdings in the Libraries.
Keyword searching is the default but searches can be focused by selecting other options, including a specific author search or limiting by date or location.

Understanding your Results

After searching, you need to look for these details:

1. Is this book in print or is it electronic (an ebook that you can access online)?

2. If the book is in print, is it AVAILABLE?

3. If the book is checked out or if you want staff to retrieve the book for you, click on "Pick It Up" and follow the steps to request the book.

4. Pick up during the time when the branch libraries are closed will be at the main library, PCL.

Using an Electronic Book

Click to follow the link; usually marked as, "electronic resource". You may be asked to log in with your EID and password.

Want a copy of a print article or of a book chapter?

You can request a copy via the "Get a Scan" button. This option may take a few days.

Can’t find what you are looking for?

Request a copy thru InterLibrary Services (ILS) - ILS can obtain books, article scans, and other material not owned by the UT-Austin Libraries
Request a book be added to the library via the Suggest a Purchase form

We recommend you search the UT library catalog for both electronic and print books.

But you can also search by publishers:

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window Unlimited.
Updated regularly. Provides access to hundreds of McGraw Hill handbooks, textbooks and monographs across all engineering fields, a materials properties visualization tool, downloadable spreadsheets, and instructional videos.
BIOSCIENCENetBase This link opens in a new window 1985 - present. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Collection of over 3600 books and reference works published by the Taylor & Francis group, covering biology, healthcare, biomedical engineering, biotechnology, genetics, microbiology, neuroscience, pharmacology, and more.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Provides access to the full text of journals published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries and other publishers whose online journals are hosted by ScienceDirect. Email alerts are available if you register.
Ebooks: Selected titles from Elsevier and its subsidiaries are included. These ebooks are DRM-free with unlimited users and PDF chapter downloads/printing.
Springer LINK This link opens in a new window Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Provides full text access to journals and selected ebooks published by Springer-Verlag.
Printed versions of University of Texas at Austin-owned ebooks can be purchased for $24.95 by persons with a .utexas email address. The Springer website for an ebook eligible for this purchase will display a message “BUY A PRINT COPY (USD 24.95)” or ""MyCopy Softcover Edition 24.95.""
See the FAQ for more information.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window Selected titles. Unlimited users.
Please note that full ebook downloads from off campus are not working at this time. Users can still download the full ebook on campus and off campus they can use the chapter downloads. We are working with Taylor & Francis to resolve this issue.

Includes the former CRC titles. Allows downloading of the entire ebook or reading online. By checking the "Full Access Content Only" box during your search, you can identify titles owned by the Libraries relevant to the search. Some titles may have DRM restrictions.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Dates of coverage vary. Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Provides full text access to journals published by John Wiley & Sons. Email alerts are available if you register.
Ebooks: Selected titles are available. May be read online, printed, and saved as PDFs. Unlimited users may access each book.
As of 2013, all AGU (American Geophysical Union) Journals are now hosted on Wiley Online Library. To search AGU Journals, please see the American Geophysical Union Earth and Space Index (EASI) Search.

For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide

For more detailed information on ebook, platforms visit this handy ebook chart.

Encyclopedias can be a good place to start your research. They provide background information on an unfamiliar topic; list key terms, facts, statistics, and definitions; and suggest additional resources.

Encyclopedia eBooks:

Encyclopedia of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering by Gary E. Wnek (Editor); Gary L. Bowlin (Editor)
ISBN: 9780429154065
Publication Date: 2008-05-28
Written by more than 400 subject experts representing diverse academic and applied domains, this multidisciplinary resource surveys the vanguard of biomaterials and biomedical engineering technologies utilizing biomaterials that lead to quality-of-life improvements.
Biomedical Engineering Fundamentals by Joseph D. Bronzino; Donald R. Peterson
ISBN: 0429104006
Publication Date: 2014-12-17
Known as the bible of biomedical engineering, The Biomedical Engineering Handbook, Fourth Edition, sets the standard against which all other references of this nature are measured. As such, it has served as a major resource for both skilled professionals and novices to biomedical engineering.Biomedical Engineering Fundamentals, the first volume of
Wiley Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering by Metin Akay (Editor)
ISBN: 9780471249672
Publication Date: 2006-04-28
Wiley Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering, 6-Volume Set is a living and evolving repository of the biomedical engineering (BME) knowledge base. To represent the vast diversity of the field and its multi-and cross-disciplinary nature and serve the BME community, the scope and content is comprehensive. As a peer reviewed primer, educational material, technical reference, research and development resource, the project encompasses the "best" in terms of its intellectual substance and rigor.
Biomedical Engineering and Design Handbook, Volume 1 by Myer Kutz
ISBN: 9780071498388
Publication Date: 2009-07-13
A State-of-the-Art Guide to Biomedical Engineering and Design Fundamentals and Applications The two-volume Biomedical Engineering and Design Handbook, Second Edition offers unsurpassed coverage of the entire biomedical engineering field, including fundamental concepts, design and development processes, and applications.
Biomedical Engineering and Design Handbook, Volume 2 by Myer Kutz
ISBN: 9780071498395
Publication Date: 2009-07-13
The two-volume Biomedical Engineering and Design Handbook, Second Edition, offers unsurpassed coverage of the entire biomedical engineering field, including fundamental concepts, design and development processes, and applications. This landmark work contains contributions on a wide range of topics from nearly 80 leading experts at universities, medical centers, and commercial and law firms. Volume 2 provides timely information on breakthrough developments in medical device design, diagnostic equipment design, surgery, rehabilitation engineering, prosthetics design, and clinical engineering. Filled with more than 400 detailed illustrations, this definitive volume examines cutting-edge design and development methods for innovative devices, techniques, and treatments.

Encyclopedia & Handbook Databases:

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Updated regularly. Provides access to hundreds of McGraw Hill handbooks, textbooks and monographs across all engineering fields, a materials properties visualization tool, downloadable spreadsheets, and instructional videos.
ASM (American Society for Metals) Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Most current edition. Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. Includes the complete content of all twenty volumes of the ASM Handbook plus two ASM Desk Editions.
Part of ASM Materials Information which includes the ASM Alloy Center Online and the ASM Phase Diagrams.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology This link opens in a new window
1999 - 2022. Unlimited users.
Contains authoritative articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses; industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering; fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field; environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology. (Due to rising costs of scholarly information and a diminished collection budget, this resource was recently evaluated. We will continue to have access to this resource but articles that are updated after January 2018 will not be available to us.)