LibGuides: Biomedical Engineering: Research Papers, News Updates, and Journals

Find Articles & Journals

Here is a list of recommended databases for biomedical engineering database --- note that the special indexes for the medical literature are on a separate tab. Coverage varies by product but most help you find research papers --- including journal articles and conference papers --- on topics of interest. See more products at the big list of Databases, where you may search by subject, type, and provider.

Which to choose?

Compendex and Inspec are at the top of the list as indexes for the literature of biomedical engineering. They may be searched together or separately.
Academic Search Complete is a good option but does not include conference papers or technical reports.
If you are thinking of the business of engineering, think of ABI/INFORM and Business Source Complete.

Compendex
The most comprehensive index to the research literature of engineering.
INSPEC
This is the special index to the research literature of electrical and computer engineering and physics.
Web of Science
Especially valued for the cited literature feature. Also, our primary index to the research literature of biology.
SciFinder
A powerful index to the research literature of chemistry. Go here to get started: https://guides.lib.utexas.edu/chemistry/scifinder

Requires users to register with a utexas.edu email account. To begin the registration process, please click here
Academic Search Complete
Valuable for searching the journal literature of engineering and of most of the topics of interest to engineers.

Collections of Papers from Societies

These databases are valuable sources and are satisfying for their full-text content but be aware that each indexes publications from one society. You will also want to search using an indexing tool with more comprehensive coverage:

IEEE Xplore
Journal articles, conference papers, and standards from the IEEE, the most important publisher in electrical and computer engineering. Plus, some IET and other material.
ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) Digital Library (Current)
Journal and conference papers of the ASME.
SPIE Digital Library
Content from the SPIE, the international society for optics and photonics.

PubMed and Medline provide mostly the same content but with different search interfaces. Plus, we have Medline with more than one interface; Ebsco is listed here and you may also use Clarivate and Ovid interfaces --- see the Databases list.

MEDLINE (EBSCO)
The Ebsco search interface for the content of PubMed.
PubMed
The freely-available version of the primary index to the literature of medical research.

Embase is valued for additional non-U.S. coverage, compared to PubMed and Medline.

Embase
Duplicates and supplements the content of Medline/PubMed.

Find Journals

To see if we have a particular journal (i.e. Nature, Journal of Biomechanical Engineering), either in print or electronic format, use the J OURNALS link.
You can also browse our ejournals by subject area.

"Find it at UT"

Click on "Find it at UT" (or on an icon with similar text) to link to the electronic text of a journal article. Sometimes, the linking won't get you to the text. If that happens, you should see a link to where you can request a copy.