The Archive Project by
Recent scholarship on archival research has raised questions concerning the character and impact of 'the archive' on how the traces of the past are researched, the use and analysis of different kinds of archived data, methodological approaches to the practicalities involved, and what kind of theory is drawn on and contributed to by such research. The Archive Project: Archival Research in the Social Sciences builds on these questions, exploring key methodological ideas and debates and engaging in detail with a wide range of archival projects and practices, in order to put to use important theoretical ideas that shed light on the methods involved. Offering an overview of the current 'state of the field' and written by four authors with extensive experience in conducting research in and creating archives around the world, it demonstrates the different ways in which archival methodology, practice and theory can be employed. It also shows how the ideas and approaches detailed in the book can be put into practice by other researchers, working on different kinds of archives and collections. The volume engages with crucial questions, including: What is 'an archive' and how does it come into existence? Why do archival research and how is it done? How can sense be made of the scale and scope of collections and archives? What are the best ways to analyse the traces of the past that remain? What are helpful criteria for evaluating the knowledge claims produced by archival research? What is the importance of community archives? How has the digital turn changed the way in which archival research is carried out? What role is played by the questions that researchers bring into an archive? How do we deal with unexpected encounters in the archive? A rigorous and accessible examination of the methods and choices that shape research 'on the ground' and the ways in which theory, practice and methodology inform one another, this book will appeal to scholars across the social sciences and humanities with interests in archival and documentary research.
Basic Research Methods for Librarians by
Fifty-nine percent of the respondents to a 2000 survey reported that their master's programs had not adequately prepared them to conduct research, something that has not changed much in the ensuing decade. Yet, many library and information services (LIS) practitioners are routinely called upon to conducted job-related research.
Beyond the Archives by
Beyond the Archives: Research as a Lived Process presents narratives that demystify and illuminate the research process by showing how personal experiences, family history, and scholarly research intersect. Editors Gesa E. Kirsch and Liz Rohan emphasize how important it is for researchers to tap into their passions, pursuing research subjects that attract their attention with creativity and intuition without limiting themselves to traditional archival sources and research methods. Eighteen contributors from a number of disciplines detail inspiring research opportunities that led to recently published works, while offering insights on such topics as starting and finishing research projects, using a wide range of types of sources and methods, and taking advantage of unexpected leads, chance encounters and simple clues. In addition, the narratives trace the importance of place in archival research, the parallels between the lives of research subjects and researchers, and explore archives as sites that resurrect personal, cultural, and historical memory.
Landmark Essays on Archival Research by
Landmark Essays on Archival Research gathers over twenty years of essays addressing archival research methodologies and methods. They give readers a sense of how scholars have articulated archival research over the last two decades, providing insight into the shifts research methods have undergone given emerging technologies, changing notions of access, emerging concerns about issues of representation, fluid definitions of what constitutes an archive, and the place of archival research in hybrid research methods. This collection explores archival research involving a range of disciplinary interests, and will be on interest to scholars working on topics related to postmodern, feminist, working class, and cultural issues. With archival research now ubiquitous, illustrated by the recent number of published collections, journal articles, conference sessions, and pedagogical treatises devoted to the topic, this volume appeals to a broad range of scholarly fields and areas of study. Primary, archival investigation leads to novel insights and publications, and has a place in most of the research being conducted by compositions and rhetoric scholars. This volume will chart the recent historical trends of archival methodologies and suggest future directions for research.
Research and the Manuscript Tradition by
Researchers faced with using documentary sources for the first time, such as correspondence, diaries, and literary manuscripts, are plunged into a world far different from the familiar library setting, with its card or computer catalogs, bibliographies, and other resource-finding tools. Over and over, studies of research methodology among scholars reveal that they learn by some sort of collegial osmosis and general fumbling about until they figure things out. There is an easier way. Burke explains the professional techniques employed by archivists and manuscript curators, describing what they do and why, so the beginning researcher has a foundation for understanding how to search and access personal papers. Burke surveys problems of organization, access, alternative sources, and legal issues with amusing anecdotes and examples. Research and the Manuscript Tradition is a reflection on using manuscripts for research, administering manuscript and archival collections and institutions, and the lessons learned from teaching a manuscripts administration course for more than twenty years. It provides a solid theoretical base as well as practical advice and a glimpse of the satisfaction that can come from working with personal papers.
Research in the Archival Multiverse by
Global in scope, this book compiles critical and reflective essays across a wide range of emerging research areas and interests in archival studies with the aim of providing current and future archival academics with a text addressing possible methods and theoretical frameworks that have been and might be used in archival scholarship. More than a collation of research methods for handy reference, this volume advocates for reflexive research practice as a means by which to lay bare the fuzziness and messiness of research. Whereas research in the form of published research papers and juried conference presentations provide a view of the study framed in terms of research questions and findings, reflexive research practice reveals the context of the study and chains of situations, choices, and decisions that influence the trajectories of the studies themselves.
Research Methods in Library and Information Science by
This book covers the principles, data collection techniques, and analyses of quantitative and qualitative methods as well as the advantages and limitations of each method to research design.
Using Primary Sources by
This book provides adaptable, and easy-to-implement primary source literacy exercises to improve their teaching and engage their students. Using Primary Sources: Hands-On Instructional Exercises features 30 adaptable, hands-on exercises that special collections librarians, archivists, museum professionals, and teaching faculty can use in a multitude of instructional situations with K_12, undergraduate, graduate, and library school students. The exercises teach lessons in both archival intelligence_such as building skills in using finding aids and locating primary sources_and artifactual literacy, such as building skills in interpretation and analysis of primary sources. Each exercise includes sections for audience, subject area, and materials used so that instructors can find customizable, easy-to-follow "recipes" to use regardless of personal experience and expertise. In addition, this consultable reference resource includes a bibliography of readings related to instruction in special collections, archives, and museum environments.
Crafting Scholarship in the Behavioral and Social Sciences by
Crafting Scholarship helps readers improve their writing and publishing success in academia. Framed within the context of the editorial and peer review process, the book explores writing, editing, and reviewing in academic publishing. As such it provides unique coverage of how successful writers work, how they manage criticism, and more. Examples from successful scholars provide helpful tips in writing articles, grants, books, book chapters, and reviews. Each chapter features tools that facilitate learning including Best Practices and Writer's Resource boxes to help maximize success, discussion questions and case studies to stimulate critical thinking, and recommended readings to encourage self exploration. A Facebook page provides an opportunity for readers to post writing updates and for instructors to share materials. Highlights include: -Insights on working with journal boards, reviewers, and contributors drawn from the author's 30 years of experience in editing journal articles and writing books. -Describes writing quantitative and qualitative reports, theory and literature reviews, books and chapters, grants, and book reviews. -Identifies common problems academics face in writing and publishing along with practical solutions. -Explores best practices in writing peer reviews, responding to reviewers and editors, and how to calculate and interpret acceptance rates and impact factors. -Addresses how to write each section of a journal article and select keywords that facilitate digital search engines to help potential readers find an article. -Includes examples of published work and tips on writing research syntheses using meta-analytic techniques or narrative analyses. -Examines the practices of successful writers, the pros and cons of collaborations, what publishers look for, and managing criticism. -Reviews pertinent empirical literature on the core topics of writing, reviewing, and editing. Intended for graduate or advanced undergraduate courses in professional development, writing in an academic field, or research methods taught in psychology, education, human development and family studies, sociology, communication, and other social sciences, this practical guide also appeals to those interested in pursuing an academic career and new and seasoned researchers.
Doing Your Social Science Dissertation by
Dissertations can be the most rewarding, and for some the most stressful, part of any undergraduate degree course, providing the opportunity for students to pursue a chosen subject in some depth, developing their expertise. The dissertation offers many challenges to those seeking to do it well and this guide is the perfect book for those seeking to succeed with their dissertation. Judith Burnett helps students to rise to this challenge, making the most of the opportunities which a dissertation offers and overcoming the obstacles to successful completion. This book takes students through the process of doing a dissertation from turning the raw ideas into a research question, designing the research project, choosing appropriate methods, developing a research proposal, planning and executing the project, working with data, writing up, and preparing the work for presentation. Doing A Dissertation in the Social Sciences is an invaluable guide to avoiding the pitfalls and making the most of the opportunities offered by the dissertation. It ought to be compulsory reading for undergraduate students in any social science discipline.
Doing Your Undergraduate Social Science Dissertation by
Are you a final year social science student who has to do a dissertation or final year project? Do you have no idea where to start? If so, Doing Your Undergraduate Social Science Dissertation is the book for you, covering the whole dissertation journey from project planning to submission.nbsp; Using a mixture of useful information, exercises, practical strategies, case study material and further reading, it helps you through the process, giving hints and tips on beginning and managing your research project and working with your supervisors.nbsp;Packed with proven practical advice, it also identifies many other sources of information and resources, making it your most dependable starting point and guide on your dissertation journey.nbsp; Also included are links to accompanying materialsnbsp;on the Routledge website. The authors have extensive experience in teaching at all levels in the social sciences, supervising social science undergraduates and dissertations.
Ethical Choices in Research by
Many books discuss the ethical treatment of human subjects in behavioral research, yet few talk about the equally important ethical issues that arise when the data are being analyzed and the study is being written up. This guide walks readers through often overlooked decision points in the research process. Drawing from his extensive experience as a teacher of research methods and a senior editorial advisor, and from well-established standards of practice -- including the APA Ethics Code -- Harris Cooper teaches readers to: Collect and manage data in a way that does not compromise the confidentiality of subjects, Avoid data fraud and misleading data analysis, Assign research responsibilities and authorships to team members, Avoid committing plagiarism and intellectual theft, and Navigate the journal submission and publication process. Post-publication ethical considerations are also addressed, including researchers' obligations when communicating their findings to the media and the general public, and engaging with the scientific community as a peer reviewer.
Getting Published: A Companion for the Humanities and Social Sciences by
The biggest hurdle for junior scholars looking to embark on an academic career is to make the transition from PhD candidate to that first (ideally tenured) job. An imperative part of this process is getting published and yet - increasingly - this is becoming something harder to achieve. This book aims to guide would-be authors through some of the pitfalls and complexities of getting published. In addition, it looks at the changes sweeping through academic publishing and, as a result, discusses self-publishing, e-publishing, web logs, and other alternatives to the traditional publishing model. Although it is in part a practical guide to navigating all stages of the publication process, Getting Published is not simply another 'how to' guide. Rather, its key concern is to give its readers an understanding of the stages, processes and pitfalls involved in getting from an idea in one's head (or indeed an PhD thesis on one's desk) to a published academic book in a colleague's hand. With better knowledge, would-be authors have greater control over their situation.
Write It Up by
Write It Up offers a practical and revealing look at how productive researchers write strong articles. The book's guiding idea is that academics should write to make an impact, not just to get published. Based on his experience as an author, journal editor, and reviewer, Paul Silvia offers systematic approaches to problems like picking journals; cultivating the right tone and style; managing collaborative projects and co-authors; crafting effective Introduction, Method, Results, and Discussion sections; and submitting and resubmitting papers to journals.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by 
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing by 
The Chicago Manual of Style by There are a variety of citation management tools available to support students and scholars in collecting, organizing and citing literature. UT Librarians often recommend Zotero to students because it is free and portable, but there are other tools.
Citation Management Software Comparison Charts
EndNote (Basic is free from Web of Science/Clarivate)
EndNote comes in different versions: EndNote (license desktop), EndNote Basic and EndNote Online, click here to learn more.
Mendeley (free from Elsevier)
Zotero (free Open source)
EID login required
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.
