Single articles on a topic are found in our library databases. The UT Libraries pay to have access to these databases and the articles they contain.
You can search in databases that are multidisciplinary or subject-specific:
| Type of Database | About | Start Here |
|
Multidisciplinary |
|
|
|
Subject-specific |
|
Databases List (use the "All Subjects" dropdown menu) Guides List (choose a subject) |
If you are looking for a specific type of information, other than scholarly articles (ex. historical newspapers, audiovisual, etc.) you can also look at databases by type of information they contain by using the "all database types" dropdown menu.
Unlimited users.
Contains a variety of source materials and book series published by global and regional oil and gas professional societies. AAPG makes available its own bulletins, meeting abstracts, and special publications for download as full-text PDFs. Subjects include petroleum geology and related fields, such as structural geology, organic petrology, and sedimentary research. Some international coverage.
Unlimited users.
BioOne Complete aggregates 180 high quality, subscribed and open-access titles focused in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. More than three-quarters of the subscribed titles are ranked in Thomson Reuters' Journal Citation Reports, and 43% are available online exclusively in BioOne Complete.
Unlimited users.
Updated monthly. Contains more than 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Provides full text for many dissertations and theses, including most done after 1997. All subject areas are covered. The database includes more than 90 percent of the doctoral dissertations accepted each year in North America with selective coverage for other parts of the world. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Only bibliographic citations are available for earlier years. More than 55,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Many dissertations from The University of Texas at Austin are included in the database, though theses from the University are only rarely included.
Unlimited users.
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 3,452,088 theses and dissertations.
Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. Provides full text access to over 30 core journals from a variety of geoscience publishers.
Unlimited users.
GeoScienceWorld Book Collections launched in 2014, and is the first nonprofit, multi-publisher book platform dedicated to the study of the earth sciences, complementing the journal holdings in the GeoScience World journals platform. It includes more than 1,000 earth science titles from 10 leading society publishers
Special Note on UT Holdings: Since the UT Libraries already license materials from the American Association of Petroleum Geologists and The Geological Society of London, and some Geological Society of America items, our license is restricted to approximately 700 titles of the original 1000 in this database. For materials that will not open here, try the original publisher’s database entry.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Unlimited users.
Updated regularly. A multi-society library that provides a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry.
Currently indexes more than 80,000 documents, with more being added frequently.
The following organizations are among those with their conference papers and technical documents indexed through OnePetro:
Unlimited users.
Updated weekly. Provides access to over 36 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases. Links to the full text articles are provided when available, subject to UT subscription status.
Set up LibKey Nomad to find access through the UT Libraries subscriptions and purchases.
User restrictions vary by book.
Provides access to select books. You may also need an EBSCO account which is free.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Searches complete text of books from selected library collections and publishers. Search works just like a regular Google search -- when book content contains a match for selected search terms, Google provides links to it in the search results. Depending on a few factors, Google displays everything from a few short excerpts to the entire book.
Each book includes an "About this book" page with basic bibliographic data like title, author, publication date, length and subject. For some books, additional information like key terms and phrases, references to the book from scholarly publications or other books, chapter titles and a list of related books.
Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Provides full text access to journals and selected books published by Springer.
Unlimited users.
Updated daily. Provides full text access to journals and books published by John Wiley & Sons.
Books: Selected titles are available. May be read online, printed, and saved as PDFs. Unlimited users may access each book.
For more information on ebooks see the Ebook Guide
This video, from RMIT University, explains what is a database.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 Generic License.